Style Guides
Many Business professors specify APA style for papers and citations.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to APA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Straight from the horse's mouth: how to write an APA-style paper and create references.
APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007
Use it online!
APA's official online publication guide.
APA's official online publication guide.
Databases
Use these Business databases to find scholarly articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and more.
- ABI / INFORMLook to this database for academic journals, general business magazines, professional journals, trade journals, and full-text Wall Street Journal articles. Subject strengths include finance, organizational behavior, information systems, and health care.
- Reference USAThis detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses offers the ability to search by company name, type of business, where it's located, size, and more. If you'd like to find out, for example, how many coffee shops are within a 5-mile radius of Augsburg's address, this is the place for you. (Answer at this writing: 120.) Also, this database is where you will find access to ONE SOURCE; a good place for company or industry information
- Hoover'sA good start for researching companies, the Hoover's Company Records database provides access to in-depth company profiles for more than 40,000 firms (public and private) worldwide. It also offers information on finances and industries.
- LexisNexis: BusinessHere you can find specialized searches for SEC Filings or look up Company Dossiers, which will give you not only financial information but also news articles pertaining to that company. You can also find the Universal Commercial Code and other documents of business law.
- LexisNexis: LegalIncludes searches for Tax Law and Patents.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).- Business Source PremierIndexes 2,150 journals, many of them full-text, and some going back as far as 1886. You can also get market-research reports, industry profiles, thousands of company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Books
Good general Business resources to start out with.
We've got a large collection of books on starting businesses. Try using search terms like:
Don't see what you want? Refine by Topic on the right of the search results screen.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call Number: Reference HF5681.R25 I525
Organized by SIC number. Use it to find out, for example, the average assets of a typical brewery (SIC 2082) in a given year. Augsburg has this annual publication going back to the 1980s.
Business Ratios and Formulas : A Comprehensive Guide
Call Number: Reference HF5691 .B73 2002
Assets, operating performance, cash flow, capital structure, and investment measurements are just a few items on this comprehensive book's spreadsheet.
International Directory of Company Histories
Some 1,250 of the world's most influential companies are described here. First major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic area. Detailed three-to-five page entries. Information on founders, expansions/ losses, labor/management actions, NAICS codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, competitors and other significant milestones. Use it online!
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information : A Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers (2nd ed.)
Call Number: Reference HF1010 .M67 2004
Shows you where and how to get just about any kind of business information. Organized both by the way the material is published (for instance, a directory) and the type of information covered, from accounting to credit, stocks, and beyond.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Call Number: Reference HF5681.B2 R63
Also called Financial Ratio Benchmarks, this once-a-year publication from Risk Management Associates provides information drawn from 244,000 company financial statements, divided into 19 ratios and organized by NAICS number.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Call Number: Reference HF1001 .E466 2007 v. 1–2
The new edition of this compendium of knowledge includes entries on technology in business (e.g. "Cyber Crime") as well as an emphasis on ethics — all in non-technical language. Many entries include bibliographies.
Web Resources
- U.S. Small Business AdministrationLook here for government information related to small businesses. The site includes a Small Business Planner to help you start your own business, as well as local resources that can provide further assistance.
- Department of Commerce
- FindLawA free, award-winning legal reference site that contains overviews of legal issues, a lawyer directory, legal forms, news, and more.
- House Committee on Small BusinessIncludes reports and statements from Congress on small businesses and issues concerning them.
- Senate Committee on Small BusinessContains information from Congress about small businesses. Look here for related legislation and hearings, as well as small business resources such as loans, grants, and entreprenurial development.
- Sample Business PlansOver 500 business plans you can refer to when creating your own.
- SCOREInformation for small businesses. Includes How-To guides on starting, managing, growing, financing, and more.
- Minnesota Small Business Assistance OfficeInformation on required licenses and permits, as well as publications and other information on starting a small business.
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
New Business Titles
Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members in the Business Department.
Loading...








Loading...
