Last Updated: Mar 26, 2013
Use APA Style to format citations in Health and Physical Education.
- Physical Education Index
Look here for articles on physical education, health, fitness, sports, kinesiology, biomechanics, sports medicine, and more. After your search, click the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" tab to see only referred (scholarly) articles.
- Academic Search Premier
Covering all subjects, this general database includes physical education, fitness, sports, and health and wellness issues including sexuality and chemical dependency.
- Consumer Health
Look here for nontechnical health and medical information, including quick, clear overviews of injuries and their treatments and prevention. Be sure to click in multiple tabs to see more results. Watch a tutorial
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more
Search for books on Health, Fitness, and Physical Education in the box above using keywords, for example:
|Don't see what you want? Refine by Topic on the left or add more concepts to your search.
- physical education and training
- exercise fitness
- strength training
- outdoor recreation
- sports nutrition
- aquatic exercises
Below are some general books. See the tabs at the top for books in more specific areas.
Encyclopedia of Sports Science
Call Number: Reference GV558 .E53 1997 v. 1–2
Look here for in-depth information on the biomechanics and physics of fitness. This set covers a number of sports, body parts, and athletic movements such as throwing, catching, and jumping.
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: Reference HM626 .E53 2006
Explore health topics across age groups, including childhood and adolescence, in areas such as well-being and physical and social development. See the Reader's Guide on p. xv for places to start.
Exercise Physiology: Energy, Nutrition, and Human Performance
Call Number: Oversize Link Level QP301 .M375 2001
This book has in-depth information about nutrition and energy transfer, delivery, and expenditure in the body during physical activity. See the back for the nutritional value of common foods and fast food and the calories burned doing specific activities by weight.
Norms for Fitness, Performance, and Health
Call Number: Link Level QP301 .H634 2006
Find data for numerous fitness, performance, and health components across ages, abilities, and athletic backgrounds. Areas include strength, endurance, speed, flexibility, anaerobic and aerobic capacity, and more.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Call Number: Reference HQ16 .E52 2007
Find overviews and lists of further readings on a variety of sex and gender topics, including biological, social, cultural, political, and religious aspects. See the Thematic Outline in v.1, p. XLVII, for places to start.
- American Council on Exercise
- Physical Activity – Centers for Disease Control
Look here for information on national physical activity initiatives: reports and recommendations, policy and legislation, data, tools for promoting physical activity, and more.
- National Collegiate Athletic Association
Find information about college sports, including rules, statistics, records, and policies, as well as research
on topics like student-athlete substance abuse, diversity, and gender equality.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database
Created by Meg Holle, Spring 2010