This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Health and Physical Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Physical Education  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/HPE Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Use APA Style to format citations in Health and Physical Education.

APA: Documenting Sources
See online examples for in-text and reference list APA citations.



Databases

  • Physical Education Index
    Look here for articles on physical education, health, fitness, sports, kinesiology, biomechanics, sports medicine, and more. After your search, click the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" tab to see only referred (scholarly) articles.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Covering all subjects, this general database includes physical education, fitness, sports, and health and wellness issues including sexuality and chemical dependency.
  • Consumer Health
    Look here for nontechnical health and medical information, including quick, clear overviews of injuries and their treatments and prevention. Be sure to click in multiple tabs to see more results. Watch a tutorial for tips.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books



Search for books on Health, Fitness, and Physical Education in the box above using keywords, for example:

Don't see what you want? Refine by Topic on the left or add more concepts to your search.
  • physical education and training
  • exercise fitness
  • strength training
  • outdoor recreation
  • sports nutrition
  • aquatic exercises

Below are some general books. See the tabs at the top for books in more specific areas.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine - Michael Kent
ISBN: 9780198568506
Publication Date: 2007-02-03
Use it online!

Need to know what a quadriceps haematoma is? This and hundreds of other sports science and medicine terms are explained.

Cover Art
Sport and Physical Education: The Key Concepts - Chandler, Timothy, et al.
Call Number: Third Level GV567 .C43 2007
Use it online! (2002 edition)
Find short overviews of the terms, themes, and concepts in sport studies and physical eduction, with references for further reading.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sports Science - Zumerchik, John
Call Number: Reference GV558 .E53 1997 v. 1–2
Look here for in-depth information on the biomechanics and physics of fitness. This set covers a number of sports, body parts, and athletic movements such as throwing, catching, and jumping.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Development - Salkind, Neil J.
Call Number: Reference HM626 .E53 2006
Explore health topics across age groups, including childhood and adolescence, in areas such as well-being and physical and social development. See the Reader's Guide on p. xv for places to start.

Cover Art
Exercise Physiology: Energy, Nutrition, and Human Performance - McArdle, William D., et al.
Call Number: Oversize Link Level QP301 .M375 2001
This book has in-depth information about nutrition and energy transfer, delivery, and expenditure in the body during physical activity. See the back for the nutritional value of common foods and fast food and the calories burned doing specific activities by weight.

Cover Art
Norms for Fitness, Performance, and Health - Hoffman, Jay
Call Number: Link Level QP301 .H634 2006
Find data for numerous fitness, performance, and health components across ages, abilities, and athletic backgrounds. Areas include strength, endurance, speed, flexibility, anaerobic and aerobic capacity, and more.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Malti-Douglas, Fedwa
Call Number: Reference HQ16 .E52 2007
Find overviews and lists of further readings on a variety of sex and gender topics, including biological, social, cultural, political, and religious aspects. See the Thematic Outline in v.1, p. XLVII, for places to start.

Web Resources

Librarian

Profile Image
Stacy Cutinella
Contact Info
Reference and First Year Experience Librarian
Lindell Library office 118
(612) 330-1486
Send Email
Make an appointment:

Schedule an appointment

 

New Health and Physical Education Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Meg Holle, Spring 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip