This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Journalism (ENG 227)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Journalism (ENG 227)   Tags: journalism  

The list is not exhaustive, but representative of the type of sources that you use to get background information for your stories and interviews.
Last Updated: May 28, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/Journalism Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Associated Press Style Manual
A cheat sheet for the AP style of writing.

News Databases

  • ProQuest Newspapers
    ProQuest Newspapers is an excellent place to start if you are looking for newspaper articles. It includes international and U.S. newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal, New York Times and the Star Tribune.
  • LexisNexis
    News coverage includes wire services, newspapers, TV and radio transcripts.

Databases

  • SNOPES:
    The definitive Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an easy to way to gather quick facts on a variety of topics.
  • Oxford Reference
    Oxford Reference is similar to Credo except that is articles tend to be longer and more in depth.
  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent starting point for almost any topic.
  • CQ Researcher
    Every issue of this publication is devoted to one in-depth subject, making it a go-to source for any persuasive paper. In "Browse by Topic" mode, CQ Researcher helps you choose a topic, letting you delve into such current issues as air pollution.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
    Find opposing perspectives on current topics. In addition to pro/con viewpoints, this database includes news, magazine, and journal articles. Note its collaboration with the Discovery Channel and NPR to provide useful audio and video clips.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip