This is the "Kekule Assingment Resources" page of the "Organic Chemistry (Kekule)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Organic Chemistry (Kekule)   Tags: kekule  

This guide is designed to help students with Kekule Project in Organic Chemistry
Last Updated: Feb 25, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/OrganicChemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Kekule Assingment Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Appointments

To make an appointment to search ChemAbstracts, find an available time on the calendar.  You will get an email with a confirmation link.  You will need to confirm from that email.

Appointments begin Sunday, February 26, 2-9.


 

Style Guides

 

QuickGuide: ACS Citation Style
The ACS Style Guide, 3rd ed., is the standard citation style for chemistry. This Quick Guide includes the most common formats from that publication. Examples of publication types not included in the ACS Style Guide were created based on the most relevant examples available.

Cover Art
The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information - American Chemical Society
Call Number: Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006
The definitive source for Chemistry citation.

ACS Style Guidelines - UW Madison Chemistry Library
A useful online guide to the ACS style guidelines. It includes guides to citing books, chapters, articles, internet resources, online journals, patents, theses and more.

Cover Art
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers - Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors
Call Number: Reference T11 .S386 2006
Contains Chemistry-specific entries such as "subatomic particles, chemical elements, and related notations", "chemical formulas and names", and "chemical kinetics and thermodynamics".

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

Databases at Augsburg

  • ACS Publications
    This is the best place to begin your chemistry research. Everything is full text.
  • Science Direct
    A useful place to begin you seraching.....but t his database is similar to ACS, it searches only the journals of only one publisher, Elsevier, a leading publisher of scientific journals.
  • Google Scholar
    Searches a vast amount of scholarly material! However, it only accesses full text materials if Augsburg has a subscription to that journal. Use Interlibrary Loan for the titles to which Augsburg does not subscribe.
  • General Science
    Excellent resources in the areas of environmental sciences, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy. It is a good starting point for research in the sciences.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).

SciFinder Tutorials

Listed in this box are several tutorials on to use SciFinder.  It would be a good idea to view several of the tutorials before you  begin your searching.  These tutorials may contain some specifics that apply only to the institution that created the tutorial!

1) Substance Searching on SciFInder.  This 15 minute tutorial from SciFinder is a must if you have never used SciFinder!

https://www.cas.org/etrain/scifinder/introsub.html 

2)SciFinder Topic Searching (journal articles) from the Marsdon Science Libary at the University of Flordia.  This tutorial is very short and would be usefull as a refresher.

http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/msl/services/tutorials/scifinder/scifinder_tutorial.html

3) If you are a textbase learner, try this tutorial for the University of Illinois.

http://www.library.illinois.edu/chx/tutorials/GuideToSciFinder.pdf

 

Books

When you search the catalog for Chemistry resources,  try using combinations of terms like these:

  • polymers and syntheses
  • sulfur compounds
  • chemical structures and bonding
  • thermal properties and material


If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Tag suggestions in the box on the right of the search results screen.  If you don't find what you're looking for, try the Related Searches at the bottom.

We also have large number of useful Chemistry reference books.  Take a look at these suggested sources:

Cover Art
Larock's (Comprehensive Organic Transformations: A Guide to Functional Group Preparations) - Richard C. Larock
Call Number: Reference QD 262 .L355 1999
A "recipe" book for Organic Chemistry.

Cover Art
Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis - Theodora W. Greene
Call Number: Reference QD 262 .G665 1999
Over 1,000 protective groups, references to original publications, and reactivity charts.

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: Reference QD 65 .H3 2009-10
An essential reference tool for work in Chemistry. Contents include basic constants, conversions, symbols and terminology, constants of organic compounds, properties of elements, biochemistry, and much more.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry
Call Number: Reference QD 5 .M36 2003
A simple but effective chemical dictionary. Use it online!

U.S. & International Patents

Web Resources

  • Chemspider
    A great and free source of chemical information that allows searching by systematic name, synonym, trade name, registry number, SMILES or InChI. Searching by structure is also available.
  • PubChem
    Free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.
  • Organic Chemistry Portal
    A great site for organic chemistry information, including abstracts of recent articles and a searchable database of organic reactions.
  • Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
    Another good site for organic chemistry. Provides links to websites on a number of topics, such as reaction components and synthesis strategies. Look here for patents as well.

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip