This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Physician Assistant Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physician Assistant Studies  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/PA Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 

Trial Databases

  • Up To Date
    UpToDate is a premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource authored by physicians to help healthcare practitioners make the best decisions at the point of care.
  • Dynamed
    DynaMed™ is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically -organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).

Databases

  • PubMed
    PubMed is the Cadillac of medical databases. PubMed consists of over 20 million medical citations.
  • Google Scholar
    If you are using Google Scholar for the first time, set the preference to Augsburg. This give you access to full text materials at Augsburg as well as inter-library loan options.
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Find scholarly and popular articles about nontraditional medical information and trends, such as vegetarian diets, massage, herbal medicine, acupuncture, yoga, and more.
  • Films on Demand: Health and Medicine
    This is an excellent resource for films in the areas of health and medicine.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is the best general database to search. It covers everything from art to zoology. ASP contains over 8300 journals in all academic disciplines with over 4600 full text journals.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Use these books for background information, overviews, and ideas for your own research.

Cover Art
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis andTherapy - http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/index.html
The Merck Manuals of Diagnosis and Therapy are designed as starting points for the Medical Professional. Topics covered are listed on the left.

Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide - Chang, Anne Lynn S., et. al.
Call Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2008
Use it online!
Find information on a variety of topics, including prevention and lifestyle, social issues, treatment and therapy, and more.

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Call Number: Call Number: Reference R 733 .G34 2005 v. 1–4
Use it online!This encyclopedia covers complementary therapies, herbs and remedies, and common medical diseases and conditions, including their causes, symptoms, treatment options, and expected results.

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health::Infancy Through Adolescence
Call Number: available online
Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system.

Use it online!

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research
Call Number: available online
The multidisciplinary field of health services research focuses on the study of the accessibility, costs, quality, and outcomes of healthcare. Use it online!

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery
Call Number: available online
Covers approximately 450 surgical procedures and related topics, such as anesthetics, medications, and postoperative care.
Use it online!

Cover Art
Cancer - Jeffrey A. Knight
Call Number: Reference RC265 .C336 2009 or online
A thorough 4 volume work on Cancer.
Use it online!

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making
Call Number: available online
Medical decision making (MDM) may be divided into two major categories: prescriptive and descriptive.This resource provides an introduction to both categories.
Use it online!

Web Resources

  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus is an excellent site for easy-to-understand health information, including videos and tutorials. It's what you want your patients to use. Topics include diseases, surgeries, medical procedures, health news, and more. Also see the Medical Encyclopedia and Medical Dictionary.
  • WebMD
    WebMD is a community of experts in medicine, health communication, journalism, and content creation providing trustworthy health information.
  • Anatomy Videos from Medline Plus
    These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer

Librarian

Profile Image
Dixie Ohlander
Contact Info
Send Email
Subjects:
English, Sociology
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip