Skip to main content

Physician Assistant Studies

Books, articles, and other resources for Physician Assistant students.
American Medical Association Style

Learn how to use AMA style

Learn about citation

Get help with writing


RefWorks is a free tool that manages your citations, keeps track of your references, and even builds your bibliography.

Use it now!

Meet one-on-one
with a reference librarian

We can help you:
Find or narrow a paper topic,
locate appropriate sources,
and more.

Make an Appointment

Or find us at the
Learning Commons Desk
9-6 M-F, 10-2 Sa

refdesk@augsburg.edu
612-330-1604

Chat 24/7
Bill Wittenbreer
Contact:
612-330-1262

Starting Points

Point-of-Care Reference


DynaMed is an evidence-based point-of-care tool that is a "ready reference" for care providers. It includes:

  • Over 3200 topics, updated daily based on a review of over 500 journals.
  • Full drug information from the AHFS (American Society of Health System Pharmacists)

Get it on your phone with the DynaMed Mobile app.

Also see PubMed for point-of-care reference.

Evidence-Based Practice Reference

Joanna Briggs Institute Logo
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Joanna Briggs is smaller than DynaMed, but deals with more complex topics and conditions.

It covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you can integrate the world’s best evidence into your research.

It includes:

  • Evidence Summaries
  • Evidence–Based Recommended Practices
  • Best Practice Information Sheets
  • Systematic Reviews
  • Consumer Information Sheets
  • Systematic Review Protocols
  • Technical Reports

When you enter the database, select the "Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database" on the menu.

Also see PubMed for evidence-based practice research.

PICO Assignments

What is PICO? PICO is an evidence-based process designed to answer clinical questions.

It stands for:

  • Patient or problem
  • Intervention
  • Comparison
  • Outcomes.