This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Spanish" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spanish  

A guide to research in Spanish and Latin American culture, history, current affairs, and literature.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2012 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/Spanish Print Guide RSS Updates
Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (5th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2010
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

MLA: Documenting Sources
Learn how to create MLA in-text citations and a list of works cited with this online guide.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    Full text for 1800 publications as well citations for nearly every academic field of study. You can limit your search to articles in Spanish. Included are Pensamiento y Cultura, Bulletin of Spanish Studies, La Perinola, Revista de Filologia Hispanica, Revista del Instituto de Lengua y Cultura Española, Debate Feminista, and others. Use the “Find It” button if the article is not full-text.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes newspapers, media sources, business and legal publications. For articles in Spanish, click “Sources” button on left, then “Find Sources,” then “More Options” button. Choose options “Regions of Coverage” (for example Central America & Caribbean) and “Publication Language” (Spanish). Click “Find Sources” button on the right to see a list of about 25. In all countries, there are 145 Spanish language sources.
  • ProQuest Newsstand
    World newspapers and wire services, including El Pais, El Norte, El Mundo. For articles in Spanish, click on “Publications” link near the top and choose “Language” in right column to identify 28 sources. Or do an “Advanced Search” and limit to “Language: Spanish.”
  • Informe
    A collection of Spanish-language magazines with full text, related to topics such as business, health, technology, and culture, including El Nuevo Herald (Miami, FL).
  • JSTOR
    Full-text scholarly articles from Hispania, Hispanic Review, Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericana, Modern Language Notes, Modern Languages Review, Film History, Film Quarterly, Folklore, Folklore Studies, Journal of Folklore Research, and many others. Search by word (so try Spanish words if you want an article written in Spanish).
  • Political Science Complete
    Full text for more than 520 journals and indexing 2,900 others as well as 340 reference books 36,000 conference papers. Choose “Languages” in the toolbar to search in Español. Use the “Find It” button if the article is not full-text.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Citations for over 4,000 literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore journals, including Cuadernos Americanos, Cuaderno Hispanoamericanos, Hofstra Hispanic Review, Poligramas, Especulo, Revista de Letras y Ciencias Humanas, among others. It’s not full-text so use the “Find It” button.
  • Project Muse
    Full-text articles for over 90 literature and cultural studies journals, including Hispanic Review, Arizona Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies, as well as several film and folklore studies titles.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
  • Films on Demand
    Over 5,000 streaming educational videos. The basic search is by “segment of a video,” not by title. To find titles related to Spanish, search “Subjects,” then “World Languages,” then “Spanish,” There are about 275 titles related to Spanish culture, history, literature, drama, and language.
 

Books

Search for books below by topic keyword. Try sample topics like these:

If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Topic suggestions in the box on the left of the search results screen. You can choose to refine by language:  Spanish.

  • alhambra
  • christopher columbus
  • cristobal colon
  • mexico culture and customs


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - Jay Kinsbruner and Erick Detlef Langer (Editors)
Call Number: Ref. F1406 .E53 2008 6 vols.
ISBN: 0684312700
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society, & Culture - Michael S. Werner (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. F 1210 .E63 1997 2 vols.
ISBN: 1884964311
Data on historical figures and events.

Cambridge History of Latin America - Leslie Bethell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. F 1410 .C1834 1984-2008 11 vols.
A panorama of Latin American history from its beginning to the present.

Medieval Iberia - E. Michael Gerli (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DP 99 .M33 2003
A thousand articles about people, events, works, and institutions from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics - Diana Kapiszewski (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. F 1410 .E56 2002
A country by country look at political history and key personalities.

Mexican Political Biographies, 1935-1993 - Roderic Ai Camp (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. F 1235.5 A2 C35 1995
Brief biographies of public figures prominent in Mexican political life.

Cover Art
Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. Second Series
Call Number: Ref. PS 221 .D5 v.145
ISBN: 0810355590
Publication Date: 1994

Twentieth-century Spanish poets. Second Series - Jerry P. Winfield (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PS 221 .D5 v.134
ISBN: 0810353938
Publication Date: 1993
Profiles more than thirty Spanish poets of the twentieth century, presenting primary and secondary bibliographies and illustrated biographical essays that chronicle each writer's career in detail.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
The two volumes above are from this series. Other CLICnet libraries have 5 or 6 other volumes related to Spanish. Search for books and request them, or for the online copy, go to Macalester.

Modern Latin American Literature - David William Foster (Editor )
Call Number: Ref. PQ 7081 .F63 1975 2 vols.
Part of the Library of Literary Criticism, these volumes compile international critical commentary, half translated from the Spanish, half written in English.

Contemporary Authors (New Revision Series)
Call Number: Z 1224 C62 vols. 1-130, 1962-2005
In these two series, find detailed biographical information, lists of works, and citations for further readings about modern authors, including those active prior to 1960. Ask a librarian how to use the index.

Contemporary Authors
Call Number: Z 1224 C6 vols. 1-225, 1962-2004
In these two series, find detailed biographical information, lists of works, and citations for further readings about modern authors, including those active prior to 1960. Ask a librarian how to use the index volume.

Latin American Writers - Carlos A. Sole (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 4 vols.
A panoramic view of Latin American literary history from the colonial period to the present.

Spanish American Authors: the Twentieth Century - Angel Flores (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PQ 7081.3 F57 1992
330 of the major novelists and poets from Puerto Rico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America. Articles include extensive bibliographies of related resources.

Hispanic Writers - Bryan Ryan (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PQ 7081.3 .H58 1991
400 twentieth-century Hispanic writers

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature - Verity Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PQ 7081 A. E56 1997
ISBN: 1884964184
Writers, works, and topics.


Web Resources

Librarian

Profile Image
Jane Ann Nelson
Contact Info
Lindell Library 118
612-330-1603
Send Email
Make an appointment:

Schedule an appointment

Google Scholar Search

A subset of Google that is designed to search for academic and scholarly articles and books online.  Change “settings” in upper right corner to search or sources in Spanish.  If you are on campus, the far right-hand side of the results will show those resources to which Augsburg has access.   Others, you can ORDER through interlibrary loan.   



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip