Research Tools
Style Guides
Check out these MLA (Modern Language Association) style guides for tips on creating citations and organizing a research paper.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to MLA style.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive guide.
Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.)
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in MLA (and other) styles.
Databases
- ProQuest NewspapersProquest Newspapers is an excellent source to track down reviews of plays that opened in cities other than New York.
- MLA International BibliographySearch here for scholarly theatre criticism. You might want to consider searching by the name of your play, a character in your play etc.
- Project MuseProject Muse is a resource for theatre history. It is a small database. Remember, when you search Muse, select article search, and choose Film, Theater and Performing Arts and your discipline choice!
- Academic Search PremierA good resource for locating recent play reviews and sometimes criticism.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
Books on theatre criticism, history
Search CLICnet
If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Topic suggestions in the box on the left of the search results screen.
Some example searches:
- enter the name of your play, director or playwright
- drama criticism or theater criticism
- theater history
- theater production
- theatre direction
- scenography
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Dance
Call Number: online resource
A very readable work with up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.Use it online!
Theatre World
Call Number: REF PN 2277 N5 A17
Theatre World is the annual record of Broadway and Off-Broadway. It is well illustrated. Our subscription to Theare World begins with the 1960-61 season.
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1930-1969, Volume II, 1969-2000
Call Number: Reference PN2266 B64 1996 and Reference PN 2277 N5 H57 2001
American Theatre is a series of chronological essays about the American Theatre--be aware, strong opinions are used!
The New York Times Book of Broadway
Call Number: Reference PN2277 N5 N45 2001
This is a collection of Ben Brantley's ( chief theatre critic of the New York Times) essays about plays he considers to be the best of the 20th century.
American Women Stage Directors
Call Number: Reference PN 2286.8 F55 2008
This is an excellent starting point for anyone researching women directors. It also includes a very useful bibliography on women directors.
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater
Call Number: REF ML 102 M88 G3
ISBN: 0028649702
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
A great starting point for research in the area of musical theater!
Broadway : An Encyclopedia of Theater and American Culture
Call Number: Reference PN2277.N5 B62 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Covers the mid-19th century to the present, this encyclopedia offers nearly 200 entries on a variety of topics, including spotlights on 30 landmark productions.
Shakespeares after Shakespeare
Call Number: PR2880.A1 S48 2007
This vast encyclopedia attests to the presence of the Bard in contemporary popular culture, including radio, film, television, and other media to which his works have been adapted
The Theater Reference section begins with the call number PN 1579 and ends with PN2860
Web Resources
- IBDB: Internet Broadway DatabaseThe IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre in the 1700's up to today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.
- Lortel Off-Broadway ArchivesThe Lortel database goes back to 1958.
- New York Times ArchivesThis resource is one of the best sources for theatre reviews! The NYTimes archives gives you a few free articles-after that it will offer to sell you the articles- DO NOT buy the articles. This library maintains a complete subscriptionon NYTimes in microfilm.
- Playbill VaultThis site provides photos, grosses, ticket prices, plot synopsis, cast, production credits and the Playbill covers/inside pages for Broadway shows going back to 1931.
Librarian |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
Loading...
