Art & MusicLiterature
This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Women's Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's Studies   Tags: feminism, feminist, women, womens_studies, wst  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/WST Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Women's Studies is a cross-disciplinary field, so check with your professor to see which style guide is preferred for your class. These APA, MLA, and Chicago guides include tips on creating citations and organizing a research paper.

Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide. Click on "Research and Citation" for links to cogent summaries of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.


APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007

The Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.)
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2003
Use it online!
The granddaddy of style guides.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - Turabian, Kate L.
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago style was designed for book publishers; Turabian re-interprets it for scholarly papers.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

Table of Contents

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is the best general database to search, with more than 8,300 journals in all academic disciplines, and more than 4,600 full-text journals.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States
    This allows you to search by person's name or browse by social movement (like the Woman Suffrage Movement). Has both primary and secondary sources and a short explanatory introduction for each section.
  • Women and Social Movements International
    Includes both primary and secondary sources. Search by name or browse by social movement.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Search for books in the box below with keywords relating to Women's Studies. For example:

  • women's studies
  • women's studies _________ [here add the name of a country]
  • women and gender


If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Topic suggestions in the box on the left of the search results screen.


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - O'Brien, Jodi
Use it online!
Published in 2008, this 450-entry encyclopedia covers a wide range of gender-related topics, both as an A-to-Z list and with a user-friendly reader's guide. Unbiased and straightforward.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Malti-Douglas, Fedwa
Call Number: Reference HQ16 .E52 2007 v. 1–4
Snapshots of world culture as it relates to women and gender. Four volumes of signed entries on virtually every aspect of the subject, with bibliographies and a thematic outline.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender - Worell, Judith
Call Number: Reference HQ1115 .E43 2001 v. 1–2
With such entries as "Safer Sex Behaviors,""Media Influences," and "Classroom and School Climate," these two volumes provide a comprehensive look at the issues of sex and gender today, with the aim of "understanding girls and women in the context of their lives and experience," as the preface says. Signed articles have reference lists.

Cover Art
The American Woman
Call Number: Third Level HQ1402 .A4
An every-other-year publication, each volume analyzing in depth a different aspect of the role of women in the U.S.


Cover Art
Women's Studies Encyclopedia - Tierney, Helen
Call Number: Reference HQ1115 .W645 1999 v. 1–3
A three-volume classic in a straightforward, readable style. Designed to be used at many levels in the field of women's studies, from academics to business to practical research.

Cover Art
Statistical Abstract of the United States - U.S. Treasury Dept.
Call Number: Reference HA202
Use it online!
Published by the Census Bureau, the Statistical Abstract is a great first place to look for government-produced statistics of any kind, including statistics on women and women's issues. See here for information broken down by sex, age, and race.

Cover Art
The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism - Heywood, Leslie L.
Call Number: Reference HQ1115 .W644 2006 v. 1–2
Taking a term that was born out of 1992's controversial Supreme Court hearings, these two volumes divide the history of modern feminism into three parts and focus on the third. Vol. 1 is a straightforward encyclopedia, while Vol. 2 is topical rather than alphabetical; articles include "Surfergrrrls," "The Buffy Effect," and "Is Biracial Enough?"

Web Resources

  • GenderStats  
      
    Compiles data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and surveys conducted or funded by the World Bank.
  • Woman Stats Project
    This site compiles information about women's issues from sources such as governmental databases, news, reports, and scholarly articles. The ability to compare many countries at once is very valuable, but you must create a free account to search, and the search is only by specified codes that you need to use.
  • World Health Organization
    The WHO maintains statistics and does policy analysis on all aspects of health. Their Reproductive Health page is good for general information about issues around women's health.
  • The National Council for Research on Women
    A network of more than 100 U.S. centers of research, advocacy, and policy about women. Check out their conference archives and other reports. Their Find the Experts page breaks it all down by topic.
  • Women's Studies in Digital Archives  
      
    Indexed and reviewed, with a brief descriptions of the archive, tips for searching, descriptions of their women's studies content, including lists of primary-source types.

Librarian

Profile Image
Mike Bloomberg
 

New Women's Studies Titles

Books recently added to the Lindell collection in the HQ category.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Rebecca Ganzel in Fall 2009

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip