This is the "Starting Points" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies  

Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/americanindianstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

American Indian Studies has no standard citation style. Ask your instructor which to use; if you can choose, pick the one you know best.


Research and Documentation Online
Learn to cite using MLA, APA, and Chicago style. Click on "Documenting Sources" under your chosen style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009

Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2003


 

Writing Tools

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan, Jose L.
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006

 

Many terms identify American Indians...

When searching for articles and books, use different combinations of these terms to find the most sources:

  • American Indian
  • Native American
  • Native People
  • Indians of North America (the official term used in CLICnet)
  • First Nations (term for the indigenous peoples of Canada)

For example, searching in Academic Search Premier, in the first box put the phrase:

"American Indian" or "Native American"

The quote marks hold the concept together (so you don't get Indian Americans instead), while using "or" will find any articles that mention "American Indian" or "Native American."

In the next boxes put your topic keywords: culture, identity, treaties, education, etc. Also consider adding locations of interest, such as Great Plains or Minnesota.

Variant Spellings
for Ojibwa

  • Ojibway
  • Ojibwe
  • Ojibwah
  • Chippewa
  • Chippeway
  • Chepeway
  • Anishinabe
  • ...and more.


Searching by tribe is also important, especially if your topic is tribe specific. As tribes often have variant spellings or use entirely different terms, account for this in your search:

  • Ojibwa or Chippewa or Anishinabe

Using an asterisk * will truncate, or stem, your keyword, including everything after it:

  • Ojibw* captures Ojibway, Ojibwe, and Ojibwah
  • Chippewa* captures Chippewa and Chippeway

Want more tips or need help? Ask a librarian!

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    Look here for scholarly and popular articles about American Indian topics in a variety of areas: education, health, sovereignty and rights, culture and identity, and more.
  • Films on Demand
    Stream educational films on American Indian topics, from anthropology and art to examining stereotypes and identity. Search by "Native American" to find a title or film segment, or browse titles by clicking Humanities & Social Sciences and then Native American Studies under Sociology.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

The books below are useful for starting your research, whether getting topic ideas or finding general overviews.

Cover Art
Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations - Verlarde Tiller, Veronica E.
Call Number: Reference E93 .T55 2005
Find profiles for over 500 reservations in the U.S., including location and land status, government, infrastructure, culture, history, economic activity, population and education statistics, and more.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America - Johnson, Michael
Call Number: Reference E76.2 .J64 2007
Covering the tribes of twelve distinct regions, this book contains several color illustrations depicting notable American Indians, maps, art, clothing, ceremonies, and more.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Great Plains Indians - Wishart, David J.
Call Number: Reference E78.G73 E53 2007
Find important people, places, and events related to the American Indians of the Great Plains — from wars, treaties, and traditions to tribal colleges, casinos, and legal battles.

Cover Art
Handbook of North American Indians - Sturtevant, William C.
Call Number: Reference E77 .H25 v. 2–15; 17
This set covers a wide range of American Indian topics, regionally and thematically. Volumes range from the 1980s to the 2000s; volume 2, Indians in Contemporary Society (2008), may be particularly useful.

Web Resources

 

New American Indian Studies Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Meg Holle, Fall 2009.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip