This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business  

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/business Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Many Business professors specify APA style for papers and citations.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to APA style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Straight from the horse's mouth: how to write an APA-style paper and create references.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007
Use it online!
APA's official online publication guide.

Databases

Use these Business databases to find scholarly articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and more.

  • ABI / INFORM
    Look to this database for academic journals, general business magazines, professional journals, trade journals, and full-text Wall Street Journal articles. Subject strengths include finance, organizational behavior, information systems, and health care.
  • Business Source Premier
    Indexes 2,150 journals, many of them full-text, and some going back as far as 1886. You can also get market-research reports, industry profiles, thousands of company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Contains Harvard Business Review, full-text, back to 1922. Watch the tutorial!
  • Reference USA
    This detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses offers the ability to search by company name, type of business, where it's located, size, and more. If you'd like to find out, for example, how many coffee shops are within a 5-mile radius of Augsburg's address, this is the place for you. (Answer at this writing: 120.)
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Good general Business resources to start out with.

Cover Art
International Directory of Company Histories - Antelman, Gretchen, et al.
Some 1,250 of the world's most influential companies are described here. First major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic area. Detailed three-to-five page entries. Information on founders, expansions/ losses, labor/management actions, NAICS codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, competitors and other significant milestones. Use it online!

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance - Kaliski, Burton S.
Call Number: Reference HF1001 .E466 2007 v. 1–2
The new edition of this compendium of knowledge includes entries on technology in business (e.g. "Cyber Crime") as well as an emphasis on ethics — all in non-technical language. Many entries include bibliographies.

Cover Art
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios - Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services
Call Number: Reference HF5681.R25 I525
Organized by SIC number. Use it to find out, for example, the average assets of a typical brewery (SIC 2082) in a given year. Augsburg has this annual publication going back to the 1980s.

Cover Art
Business Ratios and Formulas : A Comprehensive Guide - Bragg, Steven M.
Call Number: Reference HF5691 .B73 2002
Assets, operating performance, cash flow, capital structure, and investment measurements are just a few items on this comprehensive book's spreadsheet.

Cover Art
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information : A Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers (2nd ed.) - Moss, Rita W.
Call Number: Reference HF1010 .M67 2004
Shows you where and how to get just about any kind of business information. Organized both by the way the material is published (for instance, a directory) and the type of information covered, from accounting to credit, stocks, and beyond.

Cover Art
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Call Number: Reference HF5681.B2 R63
Also called Financial Ratio Benchmarks, this once-a-year publication from Risk Management Associates provides information drawn from 244,000 company financial statements, divided into 19 ratios and organized by NAICS number.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society - Robert W. Kolb, editor
ISBN: 9781412916523
Well-designed and easy-to-use, this is a great online reference for understanding important topics in business ethics. Browse through the Reader's Guide for topics like Accounting, Marketing, and Environmental Thought, or search for specific topics like "Jack Abramoff". Links to related topics and suggestions for further reading can help you find more sources for your research. Use it online!

Librarian

Profile Image
Ron Kurpiers
 

New Business Titles

Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members in the Business Department.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip