Skip to main content
Report a Problem

Nursing

Explore this guide for books, articles, and more on nursing topics. Most resources are available online or at both Lindell and the Mayo Libraries.

Introduction

Nursing


What's in this guide?

On this page you can:

On other pages in this guide you can:

Get Information on Topics and Conditions

Looking for information about specific topics?


We have a couple of options depending on what you need the information for.

For Point-of-Care Reference


DynaMed Logo

DynaMed is an evidence-based point-of-care tool that is a "ready reference" for care providers.

It includes:

  • Over 3200 topics, updated daily based on a review of over 500 journals.
  • Full drug information from the AHFS (American Society of Health System Pharmacists)

For Research and Study


Joanna Briggs Institute Logo

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database is smaller than DynaMed, but deals with more complex topics and conditions.

It covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you can integrate the world’s best evidence into your research.

It includes:

  • Evidence Summaries
  • Evidence–Based Recommended Practices
  • Best Practice Information Sheets
  • Systematic Reviews
  • Consumer Information Sheets
  • Systematic Review Protocols
  • Technical Reports


Online Sources

  • Reference Databases   |  Reference books with online versions   |  Websites selected by librarians

Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

What is Peer Review?


Nurses at Augsburg are required to use only peer reviewed articles in their research, but what does peer review mean?  The link below, to British Journal of Medicine, explains what peer review means.

You can find peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in the following databases:


Search Journals

  • Scholarly articles in specific databases

PICO Assignments

What is PICO?


PICO is a evidence-based process designed to answer clinical questions.

It stands for:

  • Patient or problem
  • Intervention
  • Comparison
  • Outcomes

Use the resources listed below to help learn how to apply the PICO process to your own assignments.



Online Sources

  • Reference Databases   |  Reference books with online versions   |  Websites selected by librarians

Find Books and Videos

Looking for Nursing books and videos?


You can search Augsburg's catalog to find books in our collection.

Or consult one of our video databases to find videos related to nursing.


Search Augsburg

  • Books at Augsburg and other CLIC libraries  |  Scholarly articles from a selection of our databases


Search Videos

  • Videos at Augsburg and other CLIC libraries  |  Online Video Collections

Find Government Sites and Web Resources

Looking for websites and data?

We've selected some that might help.

New Nursing Books

New Nursing Books

Books that have been recently added to Augsburg's collection.


Loading
Report a Problem