This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Transcultural Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Transcultural Nursing  

Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/content.php?pid=157859 Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

 

Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan; Jose L. Galvan
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006
ISBN: 1884585868
Publication Date: 2009-01

Databases

  • CINAHL
    CINAHL is the main database for all aspects of nursing research. Find articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, pamphlets, and books. See CINAHL search tutorials.
  • PubMed
    The world's largest medical database, PubMed covers cultural issues, health care administration, medical ethics, complementary care, public health, and more.
  • ATLA  
      
    ATLA (American Theological Library Association) is a good place to research the impact of religion on healing, health care and attitudes towards illness.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is good place to begin you ethnographic research.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

The books below will get you started, and several more are available!

Cover Art
Handbook of Culture, Therapy, and Healing - Gielen, Uwe P.; Fish, Jefferson M.; Draguns, Juris G.
Use it online!
This book examines how different cultures have shaped their own concepts of healing. While its particular focus is psychotherapy, it contains useful background information on a variety of ethnicities.

Cover Art
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations: A Handbook for Practitioners and Students - Kline, Michael; Huff, Robert
Call Number: ref RA 427.8 .H497515 2007
Learn about health promotion and disease prevention programs that target and address various multicultural populations.

Cover Art
Culture & Clinical Care - Lipson, Juliene; Dibble, Suzanne
Call Number: Reference RT 86.54 .C835 2005
Also get it at Mayo!
Need information about your patient's cultural background? This excellent guidebook contains a wide range of information on the health attitudes, beliefs, and practices of several ethnic groups.

Cover Art
Multicultural Medicine and Health Disparities - Satcher, David; Pamies, Rubens J.
Call Number: Link Level RA 418.5.T73 M855 2006
Also get it at Mayo!
This book outlines information on racial and ethnic health disparities to help health practitioners deliver skilled and appropriate care.

Cover Art
Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion
Call Number: Link Level - RA418.5.T73 C853 2008
This book examines the importance of ethnic and cultural factors for community health practices.

Web Resources

 

New Nursing Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip