Research Tools
Style Guides
APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
See this online quick guide.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews
Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.
Writing Literature Reviews
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006
ISBN: 1884585868
Publication Date: 2009-01
Databases
- CINAHLCINAHL is the main database for all aspects of nursing research. Find articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, pamphlets, and books. See CINAHL search tutorials.
- PubMedThe world's largest medical database, PubMed covers cultural issues, health care administration, medical ethics, complementary care, public health, and more.
- ATLA ATLA (American Theological Library Association) is a good place to research the impact of religion on healing, health care and attitudes towards illness.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts is good place to begin you ethnographic research.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
Books
The books below will get you started, and several more are available!
Handbook of Culture, Therapy, and Healing
Use it online!
This book examines how different cultures have shaped their own concepts of healing. While its particular focus is psychotherapy, it contains useful background information on a variety of ethnicities.
This book examines how different cultures have shaped their own concepts of healing. While its particular focus is psychotherapy, it contains useful background information on a variety of ethnicities.
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations: A Handbook for Practitioners and Students
Call Number: ref RA 427.8 .H497515 2007
Learn about health promotion and disease prevention programs that target and address various multicultural populations.
Culture & Clinical Care
Call Number: Reference RT 86.54 .C835 2005
Also get it at Mayo!
Need information about your patient's cultural background? This excellent guidebook contains a wide range of information on the health attitudes, beliefs, and practices of several ethnic groups.
Need information about your patient's cultural background? This excellent guidebook contains a wide range of information on the health attitudes, beliefs, and practices of several ethnic groups.
Multicultural Medicine and Health Disparities
Call Number: Link Level RA 418.5.T73 M855 2006
Also get it at Mayo!
This book outlines information on racial and ethnic health disparities to help health practitioners deliver skilled and appropriate care.
This book outlines information on racial and ethnic health disparities to help health practitioners deliver skilled and appropriate care.
Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion
Call Number: Link Level - RA418.5.T73 C853 2008
This book examines the importance of ethnic and cultural factors for community health practices.
Web Resources
- Minority and Multicultural Health – Minnesota DoHFind Minnesota minority health publications and projects. Also see the the section on refugee health.
- Office of Minority HealthThis comprehensive site on transcultural and minority health care has a wealth of information on cultural competency and minority health topics. Also find group-specific health data and statistics.
- CulturedMed
- EthnoMedFind information about cultural beliefs and medical issues pertinent to the health care of recent U.S. immigrants and refugees. Although focused on the Seattle area, the site contains useful cultural profiles, culture-specific clinical topics, and links to other resources.
Librarian |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |
Librarian |
New Nursing Titles
Loading...








Loading...
