This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Community Health Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Community Health Nursing  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/content.php?pid=169905 Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

 

Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan; Jose L. Galvan
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006
ISBN: 1884585868
Publication Date: 2009-01

Databases

  • CINAHL
    CINAHL is the main database for all aspects of nursing research. Find articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, pamphlets, and books. See CINAHL search tutorials.
  • Academic Search Premier
    This is an excellent general database. It is especially helpful for nursing students who are comparing the coverage of health topics in popular publications and scholarly publications.
  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand streams videos. Search broadly by using terms like community health, health care, etc.
  • Political Science Complete
    An excellent place to research the laws, legislation and political opinions for health care and other humanitarian issues.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Use these books for background information, overviews, and ideas for your own research.

Cover Art
Foundations of Nursing in the Community: Community-Oriented Practice - Standhope, Marcia; Lancaster, Jeanette
Call Number: Link Level RT 98 .S78197 2006
Also get it at Mayo!
This easy-to-read textbook provides concise, focused coverage of community nursing practices.

Cover Art
Encylopedia of Public Health - Breslow, Lester
Use it online!
Find overviews and definitions for a broad range of topics, including environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics, diseases, and more.

Cover Art
Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z - Rovner, Julie
Call Number: Reference RA 395.A3 R685 2009
Look here for health care policy terms and the legislative and political background on health care topics.

Cover Art
Community as Partner: Theory an Practice - Elzabeth T. Anderson and Judith McFarlane
Call Number: RT98 .A533 2011
This user-friendly text is presented as a handbook containing the most current essays on a variety of topics in the area of community health nursing.

Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide - Chang, Anne Lynn S., et. al.
Call Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2008
Use it online!
Find information on a variety of topics, including prevention and lifestyle, social issues, treatment and therapy, and more.

Web Resources

  • Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
    This site is highly recommended by Prof Baumgartner. This site can save you a lot of searching time because it a big directory of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus is an excellent site for easy-to-understand health information, including videos and tutorials. It's what you want your patients to use. Topics include diseases, surgeries, medical procedures, health news, and more. Also see the Medical Encyclopedia and Medical Dictionary.
  • Health, United States
    Health, United States is an annual report on the health status of the nation. It contains detailed tables and charts on health status and its determinants, birth and death rates, life expectancy, health care resources, and much more. The site includes the report from 1975-2008.
  • Minnesota Department of Health
    Find Minnesota-specific public health information and reports about diseases and conditions, minority and multicultural health, policy, and more.

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer
 

New Nursing Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip