Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013
Many Business professors specify APA style for papers and citations.
These sources can provide information about various industries, including current issues, trands, forecasts, and directories of companies found in a particular industry.
- IBIS World
- ABI / INFORM
Look to this database for academic journals, general business magazines, professional journals, trade journals, and full-text Wall Street Journal articles. Subject strengths include finance, organizational behavior, information systems, and health care.
- Business Source Premier
Indexes 2,150 journals, many of them full-text, and some going back as far as 1886. You can also get market-research reports, industry profiles, thousands of company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Contains Harvard Business Review, full-text, back to 1922. Watch the tutorial!
- Reference USA
This detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses offers the ability to search by company name, type of business, where it's located, size, and more. If you'd like to find out, for example, how many coffee shops are within a 5-mile radius of Augsburg's address, this is the place for you. (Answer at this writing: 120.)
A good start for researching companies, the Hoover's Company Records database provides access to in-depth company profiles for more than 40,000 firms (public and private) worldwide. It also offers information on finances and industries.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more
Good general Business resources to start out with.
International Directory of Company Histories
Some 1,250 of the world's most influential companies are described here. First major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic area. Detailed three-to-five page entries. Information on founders, expansions/ losses, labor/management actions, NAICS codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, competitors and other significant milestones. Use it online!
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Call Number: Reference HF1001 .E466 2007 v. 1–2
The new edition of this compendium of knowledge includes entries on technology in business (e.g. "Cyber Crime") as well as an emphasis on ethics — all in non-technical language. Many entries include bibliographies.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call Number: Reference HF5681.R25 I525
Organized by SIC number. Use it to find out, for example, the average assets of a typical brewery (SIC 2082) in a given year. Augsburg has this annual publication going back to the 1980s.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Call Number: Reference HF5681.B2 R63
Also called Financial Ratio Benchmarks, this once-a-year publication from Risk Management Associates provides information drawn from 244,000 company financial statements, divided into 19 ratios and organized by NAICS number.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Well-designed and easy-to-use, this is a great online reference for understanding important topics in business ethics. Browse through the Reader's Guide for topics like Accounting, Marketing, and Environmental Thought, or search for specific topics like "Jack Abramoff". Links to related topics and suggestions for further reading can help you find more sources for your research. Use it online!
Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members in the Business Department.