This is the "Starting Points" page of the "HIS 122, 20th-Century U.S. History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIS 122, 20th-Century U.S. History   Tags: american_history  

This guide is designed to help the students of HIS 122 to locate books, articles and primary sources for the required research paper in this course.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/content.php?pid=553138 Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Professors in the History Department generally prefer Chicago or Turabian style for creating citations and organizing a research paper.

Chicago Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide.

The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2010
Use it online!
The granddaddy of style guides.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - Turabian, Kate L.
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago style was designed for book publishers; Turabian re-interprets it for scholarly papers.

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    This general database covers many topics, including history.
  • JSTOR
    Use quotation marks around your search terms, and limit the "Type" to "Article' and materials available.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Search for books below by topic keyword. Try sample topics like these:

  • U.S. Hegemony    
  • military-industrial complex (United States)
  • idenitity politics
  • nineteen sixty=eight, A.D.
  • Progressivism (United States)
Cover Art
Reader's Guide to American History - Peter J. Parish (Editor)
Call Number: REF E 178 R43 1997
ISBN: 1884964222
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
In spite of the age of this book, it is still a good place to begin you research because each of the 600 entries on topics in political, social and economic history describes and evaluates some 6 to 12 books on each topic.

Cover Art
American History by the Decade!
Call Number: E196.1
ISBN: 9781587652028
The library's reference section contains several sets of encyclopedia that cover U.S History by the decade. Use the call number 169.1 as your guide to find these works in the Reference section.

Cover Art
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History - Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: Reference E 183 P85 2010
ISBN: 9780691129716
Publication Date: 2009-11-29

Cover Art
Environmental Issues in American History
Call Number: Reference
ISBN: 0313322082
Encyclopedia of Geography
Reference G 63 E554 2010

Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources
Reference GE 105 E5825 2006

Environmental Issues in American History
Reference GE 150 M338 2006

Cover Art
American Indian History - Barrett, Carole A.
Call Number: Reference E 77 .A496 2003 v. 1–2
This two-volume set series provides insights into a rich vein of American history.

Cover Art
The Women's Movement Today - Leslie L. Heywood
Call Number: Reference HQ 1115 2006
ISBN: 0313331332
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
THis resource focuses on the third wave of feminism.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era - Buenker, John D., and Buenker, Joseph
Call Number: Reference E 661 .E53 2005 v. 1–3
Mark Twain is credited with coining the phrase "Gilded Age" for late–19th-century America. From the end of Reconstruction in 1877 to 1920, these three volumes chronicle an era of prosperity and social reform.

Cover Art
Ethnic Encyclopedias
Call Number: Reference
Encyclopedia of African American History
Reference E 185 .E5453 2009 v. 1–5

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas
Reference E 184. S75 O97 2005

Encyclopedia of Muslim American History
Reference E 184 M88 E876 2010

Encyclopedia of American Race Riots
Reference E184 A1 E575 2007

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer
 

New American Titles

Books recently added to the Lindell collection in the F (History: America) category.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip