This is the "Finding Sources" page of the "Find a Topic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find a Topic   Tags: argumentation, pro_con  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/pro-con Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Check out these MLA (Modern Language Association) style guides for tips on creating citations and organizing a research paper.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive guide.

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in MLA (and other) styles.

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    The place to start when you don't know where else to go—there's information on just about any topic.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A collection of more than 400 reference books.
  • Oxford Reference
    Subject Reference works from Oxford University Press.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Find opposing perspectives on current topics. In addition to pro/con viewpoints, this database includes news, magazine, and journal articles. Click on the Statistics box under "content type" to get just the stats; check Multimedia to get radio or television broadcasts.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher has a "pro/con" category (see the link on the left-hand side) for all its articles.
  • Films on Demand
    Streaming educational films from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Films Media Group.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).

Newspapers

  • ProQuest Newspapers
    Provides online access to nearly a thousand newspapers from around the world, including prominent U.S. papers like the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. It's also a good place to look for Star Tribune articles, with archives from 1986. Use the advanced search tab to limit to particular titles or dates.
  • LexisNexis: News
    This is also a good database to go for news. In addition to newspapers and magazines, LexisNexis also allows you to search for TV and radio transcripts, including stories from NPR, PBS, and major networks. Use the Sources control in the middle of the page to limit your search to things like "Major World Newspapers", "Transcripts", and "Magazine Stories, Combined".
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).

Web Resources

  • DocuTicker  
      
    Daily update of new reports from government agencies, non-government organizations (NGOs), think tanks, and other groups.
  • ResourceShelf
    Dedicated librarians and researchers share the results of their directed (and sometimes quirky) Web searches for resources and information.
  • Sunlight Foundation
    The title refers to the foundation's intention to make government transparent. Focuses on the digitization of government data, and the creation of tools and Web sites to make that data easily accessible.
  • U.S. Census Bureau
    Here you can find general population statistics and a whole lot more. Try this for data on Minnesota (note that you can also break it down by county and city).

Librarian

Profile Image
Stacy Cutinella
Contact Info
Reference and First Year Experience Librarian
Lindell Library office 118
(612) 330-1486
Send Email
Make an appointment:

Schedule an appointment

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip