BiofuelsGlobal WarmingInvasive Plant & Animal SpeciesPollution & Water Quality
This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Chemistry and General Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry and General Science   Tags: biology, chemistry, ecology, physics, science  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Consult these resources when you need to cite information in your papers.


APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

Cover Art
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers - Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors
Call Number: Reference T11 .S386 2006
Go here for specialized scientific citation, such as mathematical expressions, chemical formulas, time systems, and more. Includes a description of the "elements of a scientific publication".

Databases

Here are some good databases that you can use to find journal articles and other resources.

  • SciFinder Registration
    SciFInder requires a one time registration using your Augnet email! If you are new to SciFinder or just rusty, check out the SciFinder tutorials under the SciFinder tab on this guide.
  • SciFinder
    SciFinder® provides researchers with unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information.
  • PubMed
    The premier source for medical research and the world's largest medical database. Use this to find articles on Biochemistry and other subjects like genome projects. PubMed contains little full text, so remember to use the "Find It" button to access any articles you find.
  • General Science
    General Science provides excellent resources in the areas of environmental sciences, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy. It is an excellent starting point for research in the sciences.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. For most part, the Augsburg "FIND IT" button works in Google Scholar. REMEMBER--if you are accessing Google Scholar from off-campus, make sure you set the preference to Augsburg!
  • Films on Demand
    Tons of streaming videos you can watch. The search engine is still a work in progress, so it's better to browse. Look for categories like Biology, Physics, Computer Science, etc.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Search the catalog to find books on particular science topics.  For example:

  • Global Warming
  • Genetics
  • Nanotechnology


If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Topic suggestions in the box on the left of the search results screen.

We also have reference books on the sciences that you can use to find general information, background material on a specialized topic, and references to other sources you can use for a project.  These are just a few examples of what we have in the reference collection.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Call Number: Reference Q 121 .M3 2007
A great place to start for learning about all aspects of science. Detailed articles include numerous suggestions for further reading and images.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
Call Number: Reference Q 121 .M31 2009
Like the Encyclopedia, this is an easy-to-use resource for all topics in science. Each volume highlights hot topics, current research, and significant developments in science and technology.

Cover Art
The American Heritage Science Dictionary
Call Number: Reference Q 123 .A5178 2005
Look here for concise, easy-to-read definitions of science and technology terms.

Cover Art
History of Modern Science and Mathematics
Call Number: Reference Q 125 H6298 2002
Very readable articles on the history of mathematics and the sciences.

Cover Art
Science and its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery
Call Number: Reference Q 175.46 .S35 2000 v.1-8
An excellent series that places science in its historical context. You'll find long, descriptive articles on the impacts of discoveries in Mathematics, Physical Sciences, Medicine, and other sciences. There are also plenty of suggestions for further reading.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists
Call Number: Reference Q 141 027 2002
This source contains over 500 biographies of women scientists from and ancient times to the present.

American Men and Women of Sceince. Physical and Biological Sciences
Call Number: Reference Q 141 A47 1986
Very brief biographical sketches of American Scientists.

Web Resources

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer
 

New General Science Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Matt Voss in Fall 2009.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip