Research Tools
Style Guides
Professors in the History Department generally prefer Chicago or Turabian style for creating citations and organizing a research paper.
Chicago Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide.
The Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.)
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2003
Use it online!
The granddaddy of style guides.
The granddaddy of style guides.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago style was designed for book publishers; Turabian re-interprets it for scholarly papers.
Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.)
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.
Databases
- Academic Search PremierThis general database covers many topics, including history.
- JSTORA bit difficult to search, but worth the effort. Use quotation marks around your search terms, and limit the "Type" to "Article."
- ARTstorARTstor is a helpful resource for locating historic illustrations.
- Google Scholar
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
Books
Search CLICnet
Try the following keyword combinations in CLICnet:
- cholera
- William Burke
- William Hare
- prostitution and 19th century
- human dissection
- child labor england
- body snatching
Epidemics and Pandemics: Their Impacts on Human History
Call Number: Reference RA 649 H293 2005
A good starting point for research on the impact of cholera.
Daily Life in Victorian England
Call Number: Reference DA 53 M675 1996
This book, is a good source for everyday activities of the Victorian period. There is a very good chapters on medicine, class and working life.
Sports and Games of the 18th and 19th Centuries
Call Number: GV 576 C74 2003
Brief descriptions of the sports and games played by people in the 18th and 19th century.
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work
Call Number: REF HQ 115 E53 2006
Covers all aspect of prostitution, but pay close attention to the portions on London.
English Historical Documents
Call Number: Third Level: DA 26 E55
This 12 volume set contains many primary sources for all periods of English History--focus on Volumes 11 and 12!

Call Number: Reference HG 1121 )93 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Sporting LIfe: Victorian Sports and Games
Call Number: GV 605 A55 2010
The books covers bear baiting, cock fighting and other sporting events mentioned in the Dress Lodger.
The Cambridge World History of Food
Call Number: Reference TX 353 C255 2000
Pay close attention on the section on Beer, Distilled Beverages and alcohol.
Primary Sources
- Cholera Online: A Modern PandemicThis resource is rich in primary resources for the Cholera epidemic of the 1830's----be careful many are in languages other than English.
- The British National Archives: Education DivisionThe Education Department of the British National Archives has posted selected primary documents that might be useful to your research--check out the this section--Empire and industry>
- British National Archives: Online ExhibitsThis site from Great Britain's National Archives has links to an online exhibits that deal with child labor and trad unionism. Explore
- The Industrial RevolutionA trove of primary sources for the industrial revolution.
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook: 19th Century BritianAn excellent place for primary resources for the "modern period" of European history.
- London Times and Nineteenth Century British Library NewspapersExcellent resources, but you will have to go to the U of M library to use these.
- Dictionary of Victorian LondonThis large website is a useful source for primary sources. The creator of the website has compiled sources on a wide-range of topics pertinent to Victorian London. It is especially strong on social topics ---watch the dates!
- Hathi Trust Digtial LibraryHathi is huge! Try starting with Collections and look for 19th century British Periodicals.
Librarian |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |









Loading...
Loading...
