Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014
Many Business professors specify APA style for papers and citations.
Economics is a broad field. Here are some databases to help you research your topic.
- ABI / Inform
Particularly useful for academic journals, but also includes general business magazines, professional journals, and selected trade journals – and full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal. Subject strengths are managerial economics, organizational behavior, and health care.
- Business Source Premier
Popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications covering many economics-related topics.
Provides citations for more than 700 academic journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics. Includes the Journal of Economic Literature, the Index of Economic Articles, and Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
- ProQuest Newspapers (Newsstand Complete)
This is an excellent place to start if you are looking for newspaper articles. Provides full-text access (and indexing and abstracts) for 350 international and U.S. newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Star Tribune.
- Reference USA
This detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses offers the ability to search by company name, type of business, where they're located, size, and more.
- OneSource Global Business Browser
Access information on millions of companies in North America and around the world, including company profiles, corporate family trees, news, executives, and analysts' reports. You'll also find SEC filings and annual reports, as well as a strong collection of Strengths/Weaknesses (SWOT) reports.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text coverage of business, legal issues, news, and biography; search highly specialized trade journals and leading U.S. and international newspapers. Business coverage includes SEC documents; state, federal, and international legal materials; country profiles; and a world almanac.
- Films on Demand
Streaming videos you can watch anywhere. Search for topics of interest or browse the Economics section
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more
Print resources in Economics.
Twenty-First Century Economics: A Reference Handbook
An excellent new guide providing overviews of theories, models, and economic analysis in an accessible, readable format. Use it online!
The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
Call Number: Reference HB61 .C647 2008
Whether you like your economics macro, micro, or both, you'll find it here — different schools of thought (e.g. Keynesian), inflation, public policy. Written in clear, no-nonsense language; entries have reference lists for further reading.
Essential Economics: an A-Z Guide
Call Number: Reference HB62 .B57 2009
A bit more than a dictionary, but not as detailed or comprehensive as an encyclopedia, this guide provides brief descriptions and explanations of important concepts in Economics. More useful for those who are new to the field.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Call Number: Reference HF1373 .P75 2009 v. 1-2
Slightly more robust than similar encyclopedias, you'll find the expected background and overview articles as well as suggestions for further reading. Useful for starting your research or for quick refreshers on particular topics.
Web sites that are especially useful for Economics research.
Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members from the Economics Department.
Created by Matthew Voss, Spring 2010