This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics  

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/economics Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Many Business professors specify APA style for papers and citations.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to APA style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Straight from the horse's mouth: how to write an APA-style paper and create references.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007
Use it online!
APA's official online publication guide.

Databases

Economics is a broad field.  Here are some databases to help you research your topic.

  • ABI / Inform
    Particularly useful for academic journals, but also includes general business magazines, professional journals, and selected trade journals – and full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal. Subject strengths are managerial economics, organizational behavior, and health care.
  • Business Source Premier
    Popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications covering many economics-related topics.
  • EconLit
    Provides citations for more than 700 academic journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics. Includes the Journal of Economic Literature, the Index of Economic Articles, and Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
  • ProQuest Newspapers (Newsstand Complete)
    This is an excellent place to start if you are looking for newspaper articles. Provides full-text access (and indexing and abstracts) for 350 international and U.S. newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Star Tribune.
  • Reference USA
    This detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses offers the ability to search by company name, type of business, where they're located, size, and more.
  • OneSource Global Business Browser
    Access information on millions of companies in North America and around the world, including company profiles, corporate family trees, news, executives, and analysts' reports. You'll also find SEC filings and annual reports, as well as a strong collection of Strengths/Weaknesses (SWOT) reports.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text coverage of business, legal issues, news, and biography; search highly specialized trade journals and leading U.S. and international newspapers. Business coverage includes SEC documents; state, federal, and international legal materials; country profiles; and a world almanac.
  • Films on Demand
    Streaming videos you can watch anywhere. Search for topics of interest or browse the Economics section.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Print resources in Economics.

Cover Art
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics (2nd ed.) - Durlauf, Steven N., and Blume, Lawrence E.
Call Number: Reference HB61 .N49 2008 v. 1–8
ISBN: 0333786769
Use it online!

Biographies of notable economists, histories of the development of economic thought, discussions of contemporary economics — it's all here, in eight volumes.

Cover Art
Twenty-First Century Economics: A Reference Handbook - Rhona C. Free
ISBN: 1412961424
An excellent new guide providing overviews of theories, models, and economic analysis in an accessible, readable format. Use it online!

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Call Number: HC15 .O94 2003 v. 1-5
An impressive collection of detailed articles on economic history topics. The entire collection is available online, with a useful and effective keyword search feature. Highly recommended. Use it online!.

Cover Art
The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics - Henderson, David R.
Call Number: Reference HB61 .C647 2008
Whether you like your economics macro, micro, or both, you'll find it here — different schools of thought (e.g. Keynesian), inflation, public policy. Written in clear, no-nonsense language; entries have reference lists for further reading.

Cover Art
Essential Economics: an A-Z Guide - Matthew Bishop
Call Number: Reference HB62 .B57 2009
A bit more than a dictionary, but not as detailed or comprehensive as an encyclopedia, this guide provides brief descriptions and explanations of important concepts in Economics. More useful for those who are new to the field.

Cover Art
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Call Number: Reference HF1373 .P75 2009 v. 1-2
Slightly more robust than similar encyclopedias, you'll find the expected background and overview articles as well as suggestions for further reading. Useful for starting your research or for quick refreshers on particular topics.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy: a Guide for Students and Researchers - David E. O'Connor
Call Number: Reference HF1359 .O28 2006 v.1-2
Useful background articles on world economic topics such as "Group of Seventy-Seven" and "Offshoring", each with suggestions for further reading. Look in the front for the List of Entries and entries organized by subject.

Cover Art
The Making of Modern Economics : The Lives and Ideas of the Great Thinkers - Skousen, Mark
Call Number: Third Level HB75 .S545 2009
This engaging book maintains that "[t]he history of modern economics is a cunning plot that can match the best of historical novels." Readable, factual biographies of economists from Adam Smith to Milton Friedman, with cogent analysis.

Cover Art
An Eponymous Dictionary of Economics: A Guide to Laws and Theorems Named after Economists - edited by Julio Segura and Carlos Rodríguez Braun
Detailed descriptions of economic theories named after their creators. Use it to look up information on specific theories, such as the "Nash Bargaining Solution" or the "Keynes Effect", or to help in biographical research of particular economists. Use it online!

Cover Art
Who's Who in Economics
Information on significant economists in the world today. Use it online!

Web Resources

Web sites that are especially useful for Economics research.

Librarian

Profile Image
Ron Kurpiers

Librarian

Profile Image
Ron Kurpiers
 

New Economics Titles

Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members from the Economics Department.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Matthew Voss, Spring 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip