This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education  

Delve into education research with our wide range of books and article databases — from in-depth theory to practical teaching advice.
Last Updated: Jun 30, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
See this online quick guide.


APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007

 

Writing Tools

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan, Jose L.
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006

Databases

The top three databases are your best bets for scholarly Education articles, reports, book chapters, and more.

  • ERIC
    ERIC is the most comprehensive education database available . ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) has been published by the U.S. Department of Education since 1966. It includes educational journals, dissertations, theses, conference reports and studies. Full Text is limited in ERIC, so make sure you use the "Find It" button.
  • Education Full Text
    Explore this database for extensive coverage on national and international education topics, including special education, multicultural issues, teaching methods, and much more.
  • Educator's Reference Complete
    Search education journals, reports, newsletters, and more for all levels of education and various niche topics.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
    Find opposing perspectives on current education topics. In addition to pro/con viewpoints, this database includes news, magazine, and journal articles
  • PsycINFO / PsycArticles
    Look here if your research overlaps with psychology topics. Refine your search under "Advanced Search" by choosing the age group you're interested in: preschoolers (2-5 years), school age (6-12 years), or adolescents (13-17 years).
  • Education Professional Development Collection
    This database targets professional educators and education researchers with peer-reviewed journals and specialized reports.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Explore various aspects of Education with the books below. Find a topic that interests you? Check for a bibliography to find more resources.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Education - Guthrie, James W.
Call Number: Reference LB15 .E47 2003 v. 1–8
Find information on all facets of education: systems and models, learning and instruction, policy, technology, influential educators, and cross-national descriptions and comparisons.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Education - Unger, Harlow G.
Call Number: Reference LB17 .U54 2007 v. 1–3
Look here for short entries on educational terms, topics, and people. Volume 3 includes a timeline of significant education-related federal legislation and U.S. Supreme Court cases and decisions.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development - Farenga, Stephen J.; Ness, Daniel
Call Number: Reference LB15 .E473 2005 v. 1–3
This essay-format encyclopedia explores education in a variety of areas: curriculum, diversity and equity issues, physical and cognitive development, mental health, and more.

Cover Art
Learning Theories A to Z - Leonard, David C.
Call Number: Reference LB15 .L4695 2002
Use this dictionary of learning theories for a quick overview of terms.

Web Resources

Librarian

Profile Image
Ron Kurpiers
 

New Education Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip