Roman Coin AssignmentGreek Vases
Latin American HistoryUnited States History
Minnesota History Topics
This is the "Starting Points" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Professors in the History Department generally prefer Chicago or Turabian style for creating citations and organizing a research paper.

Chicago Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide.

The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2010
Use it online!
The granddaddy of style guides.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - Turabian, Kate L.
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago style was designed for book publishers; Turabian re-interprets it for scholarly papers.

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    This general database covers many topics, including history.
  • JSTOR
    A bit difficult to search, but worth the effort. Use quotation marks around your search terms, and limit the "Type" to "Article."
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

These books can be useful to get started on your History project. For more books on general history, try a CLICnet Classic Subject search on World History.

Cover Art
Chronology of World History - Mellersh, H.E.L.
Call Number: Reference D 11 .M39 1999 v. 1–4
Wide-ranging and precise, covering 10,000 B.C.E. to the 20th century.

Cover Art
Daily Life through World History in Primary Documents / - Morris, Lawrence
Call Number: Reference CB 69 .D35 2009 v. 1–3
From the ancient to the modern world, three volumes that show how the details of everyday life infuse history.


Cover Art
MIddle Ages Reference Library - Judson Knight
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2001
Covers the different civilizations and peoples of Medieval times; includes biographical essays on significant individuals of the era and it includes primary sources.
Use it online!


Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Call Number: online
Publication Date: Peter N. Stearns, editor in chie
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
Use it online!

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History - Smith, Bonnie G.
Call Number: available online
From Oyinkan Abayomi to Khaleda Zia, from Abolition to the YWCA, these four volumes provide a comprehensive view of history and women.

Use it online!

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era - Adams, James Eli
Call Number: Reference DA 550 .E527 2004 v. 1–4
Four volumes of English history, including British colonies, wars, pastimes, and prominent people, during the 1837–1901 reign of Queen Victoria.

Primary Sources

We've searched the Web to find primary-source documents, maps, images, and more that you can use in your classroom.

  • The Library of Congress
    U.S. legislative information, historical exhibits, primary-source materials, resources for educators, research tools, and more.
  • Alex
    A comprehensive catalog of books and other works that lets you find and retrieve full-text documents on the Internet. Currently indexes almost 1,800 books (and shorter texts) by author, title, subject, language, and year of publication.
  • Vincent Voice Library  
      
    Primary sound samples, such as speech clips from many U.S. presidents and other notable historical figures.
  • Primary Sources for Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History  
      

    Here are links to primary sources elsewhere in this research guide:

  • Primary Sources for American and Non-Western History

    Here are more links to primary sources elsewhere in this research guide:

  • Women's History Research Guide
    Click here to go to the History section of Lindell Library's Women's Studies research guide.

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer

HNN-History News Network

HNN-History News Network is forum for the discussion of current events within a histgorical framework. The "discussion" is presented through blogs, editorials and topical articles.  HNN-History News is for History Geeks!

 

New History Titles

Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members from the History department.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Rebecca Ganzel in fall 2009.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip