This is the "Starting Points" page of the "International Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Marketing  

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/internationalmarketing Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Many Business professors specify APA style for papers and citations.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to APA style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Straight from the horse's mouth: how to write an APA-style paper and create references.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007
Use it online!
APA's official online publication guide.

Databases

Lindell subscribes to many databases that are useful in Marketing research.

  • Reference USA
    This detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses offers the ability to search by company name, type of business, where it's located, size, and more. If you'd like to find out, for example, how many coffee shops are within a 5-mile radius of Augsburg's address, this is the place for you. (Answer at this writing: 120.) use to get parent company info
  • LexisNexis Academic
    A big full-text database that covers business, legal issues, news and biography. It includes information from specialized trade journals and leading U.S. and international newspapers. The "Get Company Info" and "Research Countries" searches can provide news and information useful in international marketing research.
  • ABI / INFORM
    Look to this database for academic journals, general business magazines, professional journals, trade journals, and full-text Wall Street Journal articles. Subject strengths include finance, organizational behavior, information systems, and health care.
  • Business Source Premier
    This collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications covers such topics as accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, sales, and technology.
  • Mergent Online (formerly Moody's)
    Provides business and financial information on 15 years' worth of company financial information, personnel, assets, SEC filings, and histories for more than 10,000 publicly owned companies around the world. SEC filings, updated daily, are available back to 1993. A concise country business profile is available by clicking on the link to specific country name after performing a "country" search.
  • ProQuest Newspapers (Newsstand Complete)
    This is an excellent place to start if you are looking for newspaper articles. Provides full-text access (and indexing and abstracts) for 350 international and U.S. newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Star Tribune.
  • Films on Demand
    Streaming videos you can watch anywhere. Search for topics of interest or browse the Marketing section.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

These books can be useful to get started on your International Business project.

Cover Art
The Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Reference JN1 .E85 2008 v. 1–2
ISBN: 1857435117
Published (2 volumes a year) since 1926, this provides current information on 1,900 international organizations and all the world's countries, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Cover Art
Nations of the World: A Political, Economic & Business Handbook
Call Number: Reference HC10 .N36 2011
Chock-full of detailed information about the world's nations (Ghana gets 10 full pages, for example). Topics discussed include economic growth, exports, key indicators, risk assessments, and industrial sectors. You'll also find country information such as entry requirements, dress codes, etc., as well as banking, travel, and government contact information.

Cover Art
The Dictionary of International Business Terms - Shim, Jae K., et. al.
Call Number: Reference HD62.4 .S524 1998
Straightforward and concise, this book briefly explains virtually every term you'll come across in international business negotiations.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of International Development - Forsyth, Tim
Call Number: Reference HD82 .E547 2005
This one-volume work looks at international development as the product of social change — and has the broader aim of eliminating poverty and intolerance from the world. Entries have reference lists for further reading.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Marketing Terms - by Jane Imber, Betsy-Ann Toffler
Call Number: Reference HF5803 .T56 2008
This little red book is the Bible for marketing professionals, copywriters, and savvy consumers who want to know the field inside and out.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society - Robert W. Kolb, editor
Well-designed and easy-to-use, this is a great online reference for understanding important topics in business ethics. Browse through the Reader's Guide for topics like Accounting, Marketing, and Environmental Thought, or search for specific topics like "Jack Abramoff". Links to related topics and suggestions for further reading can help you find more sources for your research. Use it online!

Cover Art
Handbook of qualitative research methods in marketing - edited by Russell W. Belk
Call Number: Third Level HF5415.2 .H288 2006
A classic handbook with lots of information. Helpful with data collecting methods and data analysis, as well as data presentation ideas.

Web Resources

Librarian

Profile Image
Ron Kurpiers

Librarian

Profile Image
Ron Kurpiers
 

New Marketing Titles

New books in Lindell Library that you'll find in the Marketing (HF) section.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Matthew Voss, Spring 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip