This is the "Mathematics" page of the "Math and Computer Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Math and Computer Science   Tags: computer science, mathematics  

Last Updated: May 2, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Mathematics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Check out these APA and MLA style guides for tips on creating citations and organizing a research paper.



APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P831 2007

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

Databases

  • MathSciNet
    MathSciNet is the best place to begin your math research. MathSciNet contains citations for journal articles on math and reviews of math books. If you are considering graduate work in Math, you can check the publications from the Math departments you are considering applying to.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is the best general database to search. It covers everything from art to zoology. ASP contains over 8300 journals in all academic disciplines with over 4600 full text journals.
  • JSTOR
    Contains many Mathematics journals. Choose advance search, then click to search in Mathematics.
  • Google Scholar
    If you are off campus, remember to first go into "scholar preferences" and search for Augsburg College in the "Library Links" field.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).

Web Resources

  • Wolfram MathWorld
    Extensive information including definitions, formulae, and interactive demonstrations provided by the makers of Mathematica.
  • Famous Curves
    Explore the history of famous mathematical curves. Some of them have an interactive mode that allows you to see what happens when you change variables.
 

Books

Search WorldCat:


Cover Art
McGraw-Hill dictionary of mathematics
ISBN: 0071420932

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of mathematics
Call Number: ref QA5 .T34 2005
ISBN: 0816051240

Librarian

Profile Image
Mike Bloomberg
 

New Math Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip