Research Tools
Style Guides
Check out these APA and MLA style guides for tips on creating citations and organizing a research paper.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009
Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.)
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.
Databases
- MathSciNetMathSciNet is the best place to begin your math research. MathSciNet contains citations for journal articles on math and reviews of math books. If you are considering graduate work in Math, you can check the publications from the Math departments you are considering applying to.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is the best general database to search. It covers everything from art to zoology. ASP contains over 8300 journals in all academic disciplines with over 4600 full text journals.
- JSTORContains many Mathematics journals. Choose advance search, then click to search in Mathematics.
- Google ScholarIf you are off campus, remember to first go into "scholar preferences" and search for Augsburg College in the "Library Links" field.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
Web Resources
- Wolfram MathWorldExtensive information including definitions, formulae, and interactive demonstrations provided by the makers of Mathematica.
- Famous CurvesExplore the history of famous mathematical curves. Some of them have an interactive mode that allows you to see what happens when you change variables.
Books
Search WorldCat:
Librarian |
|
Links: Profile & Guides |
New Math Titles
Loading...








Loading...
