This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Medieval History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medieval History   Tags: kings_and_popes, medieval, medieval_history  

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/medieval Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Professors in the History Department generally prefer Chicago or Turabian style for creating citations and organizing a research paper.

Chicago Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide.

The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2010
Use it online!
The granddaddy of style guides.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - Turabian, Kate L.
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago style was designed for book publishers; Turabian re-interprets it for scholarly papers.

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

 

Books

Search for books below by topic . Try sample topics like these:

  • Saladin
  • First Crusade
  • Papacy and Crusades

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    This general database covers many topics, including history.
  • JSTOR
    A bit difficult to search, but worth the effort. Use quotation marks around your search terms, and limit the "Type" to "Article" and history journals.
  • ARTstor  
      
    An amazing collection of digital images. Note that in Advanced Search, you can limit by country and range of dates (say 400 to 1400 C.E.). JSOTR also has an
    "Illuminated Manuscript" collection .
 

Books

These are the bes tbooks to get started with your research.  Check these out first!

Cover Art
Book Review Digest
Call Number: R1219 C96
Publication Date: 1905-1997
Book Review Digest is very useful for locating reviews of books published before 1980. Also useful is Book Review Index 1965-2000 (REFERENCE Z1035 .A1 B6)

Cover Art
Term Paper Guide Resource Guide to Medieval History
Call Number: Reference D118 .H235 2010
This book is a guide to books and primary sources for key individuals and events in Medieval history. You would be doing yourself a favor by starting your research here!

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Middle Ages - Strayer, Joseph
Call Number: Reference D 114 .D5 1982
The best place to start all Medieval research. (Dr. Adamo uses this!)

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages - Robert E. Bjork
Call Number: ONLINE
This resource, though not at as through as the Dictionary of the Middle Age, it does includes many topics:art and architecture, medicine, and law, archaeology, ecclesiastical history, languages and literature.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases
Call Number: Reference DA129 .C67 2004
How to talk Medieval!

Cover Art
MIddle Ages Reference Library - Judson Knight
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2001
Covers the different civilizations and peoples of Medieval times; includes biographical essays on significant individuals of the era and it includes primary sources.
Use it online!

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World - Crabtree, Pam
Call Number: Reference CB 351 .E53 2008
This is a good source for starting comparative research as it includes information on Europe, Asia, the Islamic world, and the Americas.

Cover Art
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle ages
Call Number: Reference HF1001 .T7 2000
The peoples, places, technologies, and intellectual concepts that contributed to trade, travel, and exploration during the Middle Ages.

Cover Art
Cultural Atlas of the Viking World - Graham-Campbell, James
Call Number: Reference DL 65 .C85 1994
Colorful and comprehensive, with maps and copious illustrations. Colloquial rather than scholarly in its approach; use the index and the glossary to zero in on specific events and people.

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Call Number: available online
From Oyinkan Abayomi to Khaleda Zia, from Abolition to the YWCA, these four volumes provide a comprehensive view of history and women.

Use it online!

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium - Alexander P. Kazhdan, editor in chief
Call Number: online
This is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history.
Use it online!

Primary Sources

Librarian

Profile Image
Bill Wittenbreer

Librarian

Profile Image
Mike Bloomberg

HNN-History News Network

HNN-History News Network is forum for the discussion of current events within a histgorical framework. The "discussion" is presented through blogs, editorials and topical articles.  HNN-History News is for History Geeks!

 

New History books

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip