Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013
Professors in the History Department generally prefer Chicago or Turabian style for creating citations and organizing a research paper.
Search for books below by topic . Try sample topics like these:
- First Crusade
- Papacy and Crusades
- Academic Search Premier
This general database covers many topics, including history.
A bit difficult to search, but worth the effort. Use quotation marks around your search terms, and limit the "Type" to "Article."
An amazing collection of digital images. Note that in Advanced Search, you can limit by country and range of dates (say 400 to 1400 C.E.). JSOTR also has an "Illuminated Manuscript"
These are the bes tbooks to get started with your research. Check these out first!
Book Review Digest
Call Number: R1219 C96
Publication Date: 1905-1997
Book Review Digest is very useful for locating reviews of books published before 1980. Also useful is Book Review Index 1965-2000 (REFERENCE Z1035 .A1 B6)
Term Paper Guide Resource Guide to Medieval History
Call Number: Reference D118 .H235 2010
This book is a guide to books and primary sources for key individuals and events in Medieval history. You would be doing yourself a favor by starting your research here!
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: ONLINE
This resource, though not at as through as the Dictionary of the Middle Age, it does includes many topics:art and architecture, medicine, and law, archaeology, ecclesiastical history, languages and literature.
MIddle Ages Reference Library
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2001
Covers the different civilizations and peoples of Medieval times; includes biographical essays on significant individuals of the era and it includes primary sources.
Use it online!
English Historical Documents
Call Number: Third Level DA 26 .E55 v. 1–4
The first four volumes of this 12-volume set, published in the 1950s, cover the period from 500 to 1485. These amazing books are stuffed with pre-Internet extras: maps, genealogical tables, diagrams.... A rich trove of primary sources.
Cultural Atlas of the Viking World
Call Number: Reference DL 65 .C85 1994
Colorful and comprehensive, with maps and copious illustrations. Colloquial rather than scholarly in its approach; use the index and the glossary to zero in on specific events and people.
HNN-History News Network is forum for the discussion of current events within a histgorical framework. The "discussion" is presented through blogs, editorials and topical articles. HNN-History News is for History Geeks!