This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Music and Music Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music and Music Therapy   Tags: music, music_therapy  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2012 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/musictherapy Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Need to cite your sources? Use Chicago Style for most of your Music assignments. Music Therapy coursework should use APA.

Research and Documentation Online
Learn Chicago and APA style. Click "Documenting Sources" under your chosen style.

Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2003


APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference Desk BF76.7 .P831 2007

 

Writing Guides

A Short Guide to Writing about Music - Bellman, Jonathan D.
Call Number: Reference ML3797 .B4 2007
Find advice for writing research papers, concert reviews, program notes, and more.

Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide - Wingell, Richard J.
Call Number: Research ML3797 .W54 2009
This guide details the research, analysis, and writing process for music-focused assignments.

Writing about Music: A Style Sheet from the Editors of 19th-Century Music
Call Number: Reference ML3797 .W75 1988
Use this guide for writing about music, including program notes.

 

Writing Tools

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan, Jose L.
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006

Databases

  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    Look here for scholarly articles and book chapters on all aspects of music: theory and analysis, performance and notation, music therapy, education, hip hop, jazz, classical, ethnomusicology, world music, and much more.
  • Naxos Music Library
    Listen to music online from all genres. You can browse by composer, artist, genre, and label, or use the advanced search to find music by country, period, instrument, and more. There is also a music glossary, discographies, and some biographies.
  • Academic Search Premier
    This general database has music articles on diverse topics, including world music and music therapy. You can find concert and album reviews by choosing "Entertainment Review" as the document type.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books



Search for books on Music in the box above using keywords, for example:

Don't see what you want? Refine by Topic on the left of the search results.
  • music notation
  • musical analysis
  • music theory
  • stringed instruments
  • singing

Below are some general books on Music. See the tabs at the top for books in more specific areas.

Cover Art
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians - Sadie, Stanley
Call Number: Reference ML100 .N48 2001 v. 1–29
Find extensive information on all aspects of music: history, styles, musicians and composers, instruments, the music of cities and countries, and much more. Also explore music in broader contexts such as feminism, modernism, and nationalism. See v. 29 to find composers by era and country.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Music - Latham, Alison
Call Number: Reference ML100 .S37 2002
Find concise overviews of performers, composers, conductors, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, and genres, including classical, jazz, and popular music.

Cover Art
The Harvard Dictionary of Music - Randel, Don Michael
Call Number: Reference ML100 .A64 2003
Look here for brief scholarly overviews of music forms and styles, instruments, world music, and much more.

Cover Art
Musical Terminology: A Practical Compendium in Four Languages - Boccagna, David L.
Call Number: Reference ML108 .B55 1999
This handy guide shows the translation for agogic terms (the deviations in tempo and rhythm) most commonly used in printed music in four different languages: English, Italian, French, and German.

Cover Art
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments - Dearling, Robert
Call Number: Reference ML102.I5 I5 1996
Look here for images and descriptions of instruments and their place in musical history. This book covers mostly Western instruments, but some non-Western and obsolete ones are also examined.

Web Resources

  • American Music Center
  • Essentials of Music
    Find composer biographies, a glossary of terms, and brief overviews of musical eras, including historical themes, musical context, and style.
  • Music Theory
    Animated lessons and exercises help you explore and practice the fundamentals of music. You can also find tools to calculate notes, intervals, and chords in a specific key.
 

New Music Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Meg Holle, Spring 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip