This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing   Tags: medical, medicine, nursing  

Explore this guide for books, articles, and more on nursing topics. Most resources are available online or at both Lindell and the Mayo Libraries.
Last Updated: May 23, 2013 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

 

Peer Review

Nurses at Augsburg are required to use only peer reviewed articles in their research, but what does peer review mean?  The link below, to British Journal of Medicine, explains what peer review means.

http://resources.bmj.com/bmj/authors/peer-review-process

 

Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan; Jose L. Galvan
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006
ISBN: 1884585868
Publication Date: 2009-01

Databases

  • CINAHL
    CINAHL is the main database for all aspects of nursing research. Find articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, pamphlets, and books. See CINAHL search tutorials.
  • Fitne Nursing Theorists Videos
    This collection of videos provide insight into the lives of the women who are widely regarding as nursing's premiere scholars. Each video features a modern theorist and includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work and its impact on nursing practice and education.
  • PsycINFO / PsycArticles
    The premier source for psychological issues, PsycINFO is useful when CINAHL does not provide enough psychological information on certain topics, demographics, etc.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Find current research about social services and welfare, including mental health services, crisis intervention, evaluation research, gerontology, policy and planning, poverty and homelessness, violence, and more.
  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand streams videos. Nursing students should pay particular attention to the cultural anthropology section in the Humanities section in addition to the videos in the Science and Medicine section.
  • Academic Search Premier
    This is excellent an general database. It is especially helpful for nursing students who are comparing the coverage of health topics in popular publications and scholarly publications.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

Use these books for background information, overviews, and ideas for your own research.

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health - Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
Call Number: Reference RT 21 .G353 2006
ISBN: 1414403747
Publication Date: 2006
Use it online!
Written from a nursing perspective, the articles in this encyclopedia focus on issues of care and rehabilitation.

Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide - Chang, Anne Lynn S., et. al.
Call Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2008
Use it online!
Find information on a variety of topics, including prevention and lifestyle, social issues, treatment and therapy, and more.

Cover Art
Who's Buying Health Care
Call Number: online
Examines how much Americans spend out-of-pocket on their health by demographics.

Use it online!

Cover Art
Community as Partner: Theory and Practice in Nursing - Elizabeth T Anderson; Judith M McFarlane
Call Number: RT98 .A533 2011
This user-friendly text is presented as a handbook containing the most current essays on a variety of topics in the area of community health nursing.

Cover Art
Family Nursing as Relational Inquiry : Developing Health-Promoting Practice - Gweneth Hartrick Doane and Colleen Varcoe.
Call Number: RT120.F34 D63 2005
Some of the themes covered in this book are:
Rethinking family nursing knowledge -- The living experience of family nursing -- Family nursing knowledge: a living process -- All practice is theoretical--etc.

Cover Art
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing - Snodgrass, Mary Jane
Call Number: Reference RT 31 .S66 1999
Also get it at Mayo!
Explore historical nursing topics, including individuals, issues, health organizations, and nursing during wartime.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology - Boslaugh, Sarah; McNutt, Louise-Anne
Call Number: Reference RA 652 .E533 2008 v. 1–2
Also get it at Mayo!
This encyclopedia covers several aspects of epidemiology, from technical biostats and research methodology to specific populations and public health.

Cover Art
Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z - Rovner, Julie
Call Number: Reference RA 395.A3 R685 2009
Look here for health care policy terms and the legislative and political background on health care topics.

Government Sites and Web Resources

 

New Nursing Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip