Explore this guide for books, articles, and more on nursing topics. Most resources are available online or at both Lindell and the Mayo Libraries.
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2013
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.
CINAHL is the main database for all aspects of nursing research. Find articles from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, pamphlets, and books. See CINAHL search tutorials.
- Fitne Nursing Theorists Videos
This collection of videos provide insight into the lives of the women who are widely regarding as nursing's premiere scholars. Each video features a modern theorist and includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work and its impact on nursing practice and education.
- PsycINFO / PsycArticles
The premier source for psychological issues, PsycINFO is useful when CINAHL does not provide enough psychological information on certain topics, demographics, etc.
- Social Services Abstracts
Find current research about social services and welfare, including mental health services, crisis intervention, evaluation research, gerontology, policy and planning, poverty and homelessness, violence, and more.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand streams videos. Nursing students should pay particular attention to the cultural anthropology section in the Humanities section in addition to the videos in the Science and Medicine section.
- Academic Search Premier
This is excellent an general database. It is especially helpful for nursing students who are comparing the coverage of health topics in popular publications and scholarly publications.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more
Use these books for background information, overviews, and ideas for your own research.
Medline's Medical Encyclopedia
Call Number: ONLINE
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Magill's Medical Guide
Call Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2008
Use it online!
Find information on a variety of topics, including prevention and lifestyle, social issues, treatment and therapy, and more.
MedlinePlus is an excellent site for easy-to-understand health information, including videos and tutorials. It's what you want your patients to use. Topics include diseases, surgeries, medical procedures, health news, and more. Also see the Medical Encyclopedia
and Medical Dictionary
- Minnesota Department of Health
- Health, United States
Health, United States is an annual report on the health status of the nation. It contains detailed tables and charts on health status and its determinants, birth and death rates, life expectancy, health care resources, and much more. The site includes the report from 1975-2008.
- Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
An easy-to-use site containing information, publications
, and statistics
on just about any issue in the field of Community Health. Find your topic in the A-Z list at the top of the page. Their WONDER
site is an easy-to-use system for finding statistics.
- National Institutes of Health
The government's center for medical research. Their Research Page
has information and resources on lab and clinical research. You'll also find health news
, information on grants
, and more.
- Office of Minority Health
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA's website contains the rules, regulations, guidelines for safety in the workplace.