This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Social Sciences (APA): Documenting Sources
See this online quick guide.


APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: Reference Desk BF76.7 .P831 2007

 

Writing Tools

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan, Jose L.
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006

Databases

  • DSM 5 (The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
    PsychiatryOnline contains the DSM library. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. This site contains online access for the DSM V. Site also includes electronic access to all the previous editions of the DSM.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Look here for scholarly and popular articles on all subjects, including psychology, sociology, and much more. Limit your results to scholarly items only, or narrow your results to magazines or newspapers for popular perspectives on psychology topics.
  • PsycINFO / PsycArticles
    This is the premier database for scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of psychology. See Using PsycINFO to learn how to focus your search to get the best results.
  • PubMed
    The world's largest medical database, PubMed covers several aspects of psychology, including clinical psychology, child psychology, abnormal psychology, sport and exercise psychology, and more.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books



Search for books on Psychology in the box above using keywords, for example:

Don't see what you want? Refine by Topic on the left of the search results list.
  • behaviorism
  • forensic psychology
  • psychology religion
  • positive psychology
  • educational psychology
  • music therapy

You can also browse the reference books below for topic overviews and research ideas.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology - Kazdin, Alan E.
Call Number: Reference BF31 .E52 2000 v. 1–8
This set covers all aspects of psychology including biographies with a focus on both historical overviews and current and future trends. See the Synoptic Outline of Contents in v. 8, p. 353, for places to start.

Cover Art
APA Dictionary of Psychology - VandenBos, Gary R.
Call Number: Reference BF31 .A65 2007
Find concise, cross-referenced entries on all aspects of psychology, including disorders, therapies, biographies, organizations, tests and assessment instruments, and much more.

Cover Art
Psychologists' Desk Reference - Koocher, Gerald P., et al.
Call Number: Reference RC467.2 .P78 2005
Look here for practical and authoritative psychology information: assessment and diagnosis; testing; psychotherapy and treatment; working with groups, families, and youth; ethical and legal issues; and much more.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - Darity, Jr., William A.
Call Number: Reference H40.A2 I5 2008 v. 1–9
Find entries on important people, movements, events, and more in this massive set covering all areas of the social sciences (psychology, sociology, etc.). The Thematic Outline in v. 1, p. CXXIII, can help you start exploring.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to the Mind - Gregory, Richard L.
Call Number: Reference BF31 .O94 2004
Find overviews of topics related to the mind such as consciousness, memory, emotion, perception, and much more.

Cover Art
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences - Wilson, Robert A.; Keil, Frank C.
Call Number: Reference BF311 .M556 1999
Use it online!
Look here for in-depth overviews of cognitive science topics, including psychology, linguistics and language, neuroscience, and more.

Cover Art
Handbook of the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality - Paloutzian, Raymond F.; Park, Crystal L.
Call Number: Reference BL53 .H288 2005
Find essays with extensive reference lists about the psychological processes underlying spirituality, religious behavior, and religious experience.

Cover Art
Handbook of Psychology: Volume 11, Forensic Psychology - Goldstein, Alan M.; Weiner, Irving B.
Use it online!
Explore civil and criminal forensic psychology: overviews of the profession, issues in assessment, special topics such as eyewitness accounts and jury selection, and more.

Web Resources

 

New Psychology Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Meg Holle, Fall 2009

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip