This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion   Tags: faith, luther, religion, theology  

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/religion Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Professors in the Religion Department generally prefer Chicago or Turabian style for creating citations and organizing a research paper.

Chicago Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide.

The Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.)
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .C57 2003
Use it online!
The granddaddy of style guides.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - Turabian, Kate L.
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago style was designed for book publishers; Turabian re-interprets it for scholarly papers.

Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (5th ed.) - Hacker, Diana
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2010
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

 

Writing Tools

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan, Jose L.
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006

Databases

If you're doing research in Religion and need articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, or other resources, go to these databases.

  • Academic Search Premier
    This general database includes full text of more than 4,600 journals in most college subjects, and indexes 4,000 others. Try narrowing your search by SUBJECT and limiting it to "Academic Journals." (See the PAS tutorial to review how to identify scholarly journals.)
  • ATLA  
      
    More scholarly than Academic Search Premier, the American Theological Library Association's database gives you access to more than 1,600 religion and theology journals, some full-text.
  • Religious & Theological Abstracts
    This database goes hand in hand with ATLA, providing the abstracts that ATLA (which gives bibliographic citations, but not article summaries) does not have.
  • The Philosopher's Index
    Religion and philosophy are close cousins. This respected database provides author-written abstracts of scholarly material drawn from nearly 500,000 resources (including 550 journals) going back to 1940: journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books

The newest faces in our reference collection — and some old standbys, too.  Want to expand your horizons?  Don't forget to check bibliographies at the end of an article or encyclopedia entry to get even more recommendations.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed.) - Jones, Lindsay
Call Number: Reference BL31 .E46 2005 v. 1–10
Use it online!
With the aim of "introduc[ing] educated, nonspecialist readers to important ideas ... in the religious experience of humankind," this illustrated 10-volume encyclopedia is the first place to turn for religious research.

Cover Art
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions - Melton, J. Gordon
Call Number: Reference BL2525 .M449 2009
A classic work that divides North America's 1,500 religions into 19 general families, with in-depth essays on each.

Cover Art
The Brill Dictionary of Religion - von Stuckrad, Kocku
Call Number: Reference BL31 .M4813 2007 v. 1–4
Four illustrated volumes that emphasize religion in daily life.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of World Faiths : An Illustrated Survey of the World's Living Religions - Bishop, Peter, & Darton, Michael
Call Number: Reference BL80.2 .E495 1988
Twelve of the religions currently practiced in the world, from the well-known to the obscure, are brought to life by 35 essayists. With photos and other illustrations.

Web Resources

  • CIA World Factbook: Religions
    The U.S. Central Intelligence Agency has been publishing "factbooks" — compendiums of knowledge about the world — since its inception in 1947. Starting in 2008, it offers concise descriptions of world religions' core beliefs, from Baha'i to Zoroastrianism. Also includes a breakdown of religions by country.
  • Religion Facts
    A clean, straightforward design expresses its author's wish to present "just the facts" about the world's religions without promoting any one of them. In addition to clickable links about individual faiths, the site's so-called "Big Religion Chart" is both concise and comprehensive.
  • Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion
    A selective, annotated guide (funded by the Lilly Endowment) to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those involved in the study and practice of religion.

Librarian

Profile Image
Jane Ann Nelson
Contact Info
Lindell Library 118
612-330-1603
Send Email
Make an appointment:

Schedule an appointment

 

New Religion Titles

Lindell Library ordered these recently acquired items at the request of faculty members from the Religion department.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip