Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013
Consult these resources when you need to cite information in your papers.
Here are some good databases that you can use to find journal articles and other resources.
- SciFinder Registration
SciFInder requires a one time registration using your Augnet email! If you are new to SciFinder or just rusty, check out the SciFinder tutorials under the SciFinder tab on this guide.
SciFinder® provides researchers with unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information.
The premier source for medical research and the world's largest medical database. Use this to find articles on Biochemistry
and other subjects like genome projects
. PubMed contains little full text, so remember to use the "Find It" button to access any articles you find.
- General Science
General Science provides excellent resources in the areas of environmental sciences, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy. It is an excellent starting point for research in the sciences.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. For most part, the Augsburg "FIND IT" button works in Google Scholar. REMEMBER--if you are accessing Google Scholar from off-campus, make sure you set the preference to Augsburg!
- Films on Demand
Tons of streaming videos you can watch. The search engine is still a work in progress, so it's better to browse. Look for categories like Biology, Physics, Computer Science, etc.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more
Search the catalog to find books on particular science topics. For example:
- Global Warming
If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Topic suggestions in the box on the left of the search results screen.
We also have reference books on the sciences that you can use to find general information, background material on a specialized topic, and references to other sources you can use for a project. These are just a few examples of what we have in the reference collection.
McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
Call Number: Reference Q 121 .M31 2009
Like the Encyclopedia, this is an easy-to-use resource for all topics in science. Each volume highlights hot topics, current research, and significant developments in science and technology.
Created by Matt Voss in Fall 2009.