CriminologyCultural AnthropologyGender & SexualityMarriage & FamilyOrganizations, Work & EconomicsRace & ClassUrban & Metro
This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology   Tags: sociology, swk  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://augsburg.libguides.com/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

Ask your instructor which citation style to use; if you can choose, pick the one you know best.

ASA Quick Style Guide
See this guide from the American Sociological Association.

Research and Documentation Online
Learn to cite using MLA, APA and Chicago style. Click on "Documenting Sources" under your chosen style.

Style Guide - American Sociological Association
Call Number: Reference HM73 .A54 2007


MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009

 

Writing Tools

Annotated Bibliographies
See Purdue's excellent guide to creating annotated bibliographies: lists of scholarly sources with brief descriptions.

Cover Art
Writing Literature Reviews - Galvan, Jose L.
Call Number: Reference H61.8 .G3 2006

Databases

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Find articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings on all aspects of sociology: history and theory, culture, social structure, social psychology, rural and urban issues, families, organizations, substance abuse and addiction, and much more.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Look here for scholarly and popular articles on sociology and other related academic subjects, including psychology, anthropology, urban studies, gender studies, and more.
  • PsycINFO / PsycArticles
    Explore sociology topics that overlap with psychology, including social psychology and organizational behavior. You can find specific kinds of research by limiting your results by methodology on the bottom right side of the Advanced search page.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Find current research about social services and welfare, including sociological concerns: urban and rural issues, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, violence, and more.
  • Find It!
    No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
 

Books



Search for books on Sociology in the box above using keywords, for example:

Don't see what you want? Refine by Topic on the left on the search results.
  • sociology methodology
  • social psychology
  • sociology history
  • social inequality
  • sociology religion
  • social structures

You can also browse the reference books below for topic overviews and research ideas.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology - Ritzer, George
Call Number: Reference HM425 .B53 2007 v. 1–10
Find overviews and suggested readings for key sociological topics, theories, and people. Not sure where to start? See the helpful Lexicon in v. 1, p. xciii, to see entries groped by theme.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Sociology - Scott, John; Marshall, Gordon
Call Number: Reference HM425 .D5735 2005
Look here for concise definitions of terms and concepts from sociology and related fields like psychology and anthropology.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Social Theory - Harrington, Austin; Marshall, Barbara L.; Müller, Hans-Peter
Call Number: Reference HM425 .E46 2006
This work provides foundational understandings for sociological theories, schools, and debates, with citations for further reading.

Cover Art
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook - Bryant, Clifton D.; Peck, Dennis L.
Call Number: Reference HM585 .A13 2007 v.1–2
The in-depth essays in this handbook cover a wide range of topics, from social problems to social life, institutions, the self, and more.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences - William A. Darity
Call Number: Reference H40.A2 I5 2008 v. 1–9
ISBN: 0028659651
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Find entries on important people, movements, events, and more in this massive set covering all areas of the social sciences (sociology, anthropology, etc.). The Thematic Outline in v. 1, p. CXXIII, can help you start exploring.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World - Christensen, Karen; Levinson, David
Call Number: Reference HM756 .E53 2003 v. 1–4
Discover various perspectives on and examples of community, from politics and activism to rural life and religion. The Reader's Guide in v. 1, p. xix, can help you get started.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice - Anderson, Gary L.; Herr, Kathryn G.
Call Number: Reference HM671 .E53 2007 v. 1–3
Look here for information about activism, civil engagement, and social justice, including leaders, movements, ideas, and concepts. The Reader's Guide in v. 1, p. xix, is an excellent place to start.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Rural America: The Land and People - Goreham, Gary A.
Call Number: Reference E169.12 .E53 2008 v. 1–2
Combining sociology, anthropology, history, and public policy, this encyclopedia examines the contemporary issues of rural life.

Web Resources

Librarian

Profile Image
Dixie Ohlander
 

New Sociology Titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Credits

Created by Meg Holle in Fall 2009

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip