Research Tools
Style Guides
Check out these MLA (Modern Language Association) style guides for tips on creating citations and organizing a research paper.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue)
Purdue University's online guide to MLA style.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2009
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive guide.
Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.)
Call Number: Reference Desk LB2369 .H33 2006
Diana Hacker's respected guide also has a handy online companion where you can quickly see citations and sample papers in MLA (and other) styles.
Databases
- ProQuest NewspapersProquest Newspapers is an excellent source to track down reviews of plays that opened in cities other than New York.
- MLA International BibliographySearch here for scholarly theatre criticism. You might want to consider searching by the name of your play, a character in your play, etc.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it (learn more).
Books onTheatre
Search WorldCat
If your first search brings up too many irrelevant items, try using the Refine by Topic suggestions in the box on the left of the search results screen.
Try searching use the terms listed below:
- enter the name of your play, director or playwright
- drama criticism or theater criticism
- theater history
- theater production
- theatre direction
- scenography
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
A very readable work with up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.Use it online!
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1931-1968 and 1969-2000
Call Number: Reference PN 2277 N5 H57 2001
This is two volume set of chronological essays about the American Theatre--be aware, strong opinions are used!
Theatre World
Call Number: REF PN 2277 N5 A17
Theatre World is the annual record of Broadway and Off-Broadway. It is well illustrated. Our subscription to Theatre World begins with the 1960-61 season.
The Library of Congress's Perfroming Arts Encyclopedia
Call Number: online
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. Excellent for primary sources!
Banned Plays: Censorship histories of 125 Stage Dramas
Call Number: Reference PN 2042 S68 2004b
Has the play you have selected been banned? This book provides through coverage and reading lists for 125 plays. The Crucible, Marriage of Figaro and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof are amongst the damned.
Enser's Filmed Books and Plays
Call Number: Reference PN 1997. 85 E56 2003
The only comprehensive printed compendium of motion picture and television adaptations of books and plays.
The Cambridge History of American Theatre
Call Number: Reference PN 2221 C37 1998
This encyclopedia consists of a series of interpretive essays dealing with American theatre. Sample titles include: Directors and Directing, American Theatre in Context 1945-present.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Call Number: Reference: PN 2035 C27 1995
Good concise entrees and all aspects of theatre!
The New York Times Book of Broadway
Call Number: Reference PN2277 N5 N45 2001
This is a collection of Ben Brantley's (chief theatre critic of the New York Times) essays about plays he considers to be the best of the 10th century.
American Decades
Call Number: Reference E169.12 .A419
History in a nutshell! This works analyzes 20th century U.S. by decade then by topics i.e. world events, arts, fashion, lifestyle sports, politics, etc.
American Women Stage Directors
Call Number: Reference PN 2286.8 F55 2008
This is an excellent starting point for anyone researching women directors. It also includes a very useful bibliography on women directors.
Web Resources
- IBDB: Internet Broadway DatabaseThe IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre in the 1700's up to today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.
- The Art Of Ancient Greek TheaterThis website uses artifacts from the Getty's collection to interpret Greek Theater from primary sources. It includes vase paintings, papyrus texts of surviving plays and contemporary recordings of ancient Greek.
Librarian |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |










Loading...
Loading...
